HEADSPACE – I Am Anonymous

Inside Out 2012 www.insideout.de

Not a name – yet – but you will doubtless know the band members: vocalist Damian Wilson (Threshold/Ayreon), Adam Wakeman on keyboards (Ozzy Osbourne), guitarist Pete Rinaldi, bassist Lee Pomeroy (Take That/It Bites) and drummer Richard Brook (Avril Lavigne).

It is a loose concept album that Damian Wilson says “The title of the album has the finger pointed directly at the listener. It is about you and your relationship with humanity, ultimately the battles fought within the mind from child to man.” It is an album that evolves with each repeated listen and the opening song ‘Stalled Armageddon’ certainly demands your attention from the off. A big instrumental scene setter a la Dream Theater before Damian Wilson’s vocals kick in. ‘Fall Of America’ keeps the prog metal going and reminded me of Evergrey. But there is quieter moments like ‘Soldier’, a song very similar to Damian Wilson’s excellent solo work (do grab a copy of last year’s double CD best of, well worth having in your collection).

‘Daddy F***ing Loves You’ is a tour de force, from the gentle opening through some neat keyboards and guitars. For a drummer who counts Victoria Beckham in his playing CV, Richard Brook lays down an immense sound, check out ‘The Big Day’ – fantastic stuff.

A prog metal delight which I am sure this will be on many people’s year end ‘best of’ lists and deservedly so.


Jason Ritchie

10 Q’s with Adam Wakeman

Check out Canadian singer songwriter Josh Taerk and his exclusive live session via Get Ready to ROCK!’s Facebook page

In his show on Get Ready to ROCK! Radio on Sunday 29 March David Randall featured a selection of tracks from “Albums of the Month” (January-March 2020) (29:45)

Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

Featured Albums w/c 30 March (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 HARTMANN 15 Pearls And Gems (AOR Heaven)
12:00-13:00 H.E.A.T. II (earMUSIC)
14:00-16:00 GRAHAM GOULDMAN Modesty Forbids (Lojinx)

Power Plays w/c 30 March (Mon-Fri)

LOUISE LEMON Devil (Icons Creating Evil Art )
BLACK ORCHID EMPIRE Winter Keeps Us Warm (indie)
ONE DESIRE Shadowman (Frontiers)
CRYSTAL IGNITE Black Mamba (indie)
PICTURESQUE ATTN: (Rude Records/Equal Vision Records)
SKARLETT RIOT Human (indie)

Email This Page
This entry was posted in ALBUM REVIEWS, ALBUM REVIEWS (Mobile), All Posts, PURE METAL (All posts), Pure Metal/Album reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply