DORO – Under My Skin: A Fine Collection Of Doro Classics

(2CD) AFM Records

Doro Pesch is a true metal legend who has given her all for her fans and music (a telling interview I read with her said how she gave up any idea of raising a family as metal music and her fans were her family). Disc one is the heavier songs and more well-known ones like ‘All We Are’ – 2007 version and much heavier than the original – the metal monster that is ‘Night of the Warlock’ and ‘Metal Tango’. ‘Fur Immer’ has become one of her live standards, as has the tribute to her many fans ‘You’re My Family’. There are a few songs with the Classic Night Orchestra adding some suitably metal strings including ‘Always Live To Win’.

Disc two has some alternate versions of her songs including ‘Celebrate’ with a female metal choir that includes members of Girlschool, Sabina Classen (Holy Moses), Liv Kristine (Leaves’ Eyes), Floor Jansen (ex-After Forever) and Angela Gossow (Arch Enemy). Doro actually comes into her won for me on the softer ballads like ‘Rescue Me’ and the acoustic version of ‘Rare Diamond’.  Cracking cover of Judas Priest’s ‘Breaking The Law’ as well.

There are three videos included along with the chance to access exclusive online content via the CD on Doro’s website. Nice inlay sleeve as well with handwritten notes from the lady herself on each song,.

A perfect introduction for those new to Doro’s music as this is not really aimed at fans who will have the majority, if not all of the songs on here.


Jason Ritchie

Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

Power Plays w/c 13 May (Mon-Fri)

WARM RAIN Here Comes The Rain Again (Rain Recordings)
DARWIN Cosmic Rays (indie)
MICHAEL THOMPSON BAND Love & Beyond (Frontiers)
MARQUIS DRIVE Shine On (indie)
YOUR LIFE & MINE Remind To Remember (indie)
EMERALD SUN What becomes Of You (indie)

Featured Albums w/c 13 May (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 JIM PETERIK WORLD STAGE Winds Of Change (Frontiers)
12:00-13:00 WHITESNAKE Flesh & Blood (Frontiers)
14:00-16:00 BUFORD POPE The Waiting Game (Unchained Records)

Albums That Time Forgot (Mon-Fri)

NEVER THE BRIDE Surprise (2005)

Email This Page
This entry was posted in ALBUM REVIEWS, ALBUM REVIEWS (Mobile), All Posts, PURE METAL (All posts), Pure Metal/Album reviews and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply