THE ORDEAL – Descent From Hell



Dust On The Tracks (Release Date – 29th Oct 2012)

Germany and power metal go together like ‘wiener schnitzel mit fries’, a winning combination and a very tasty prospect. In ‘Descent From Hell’ The Ordeal have served up a meaty, satisfying masterpiece which will leave most people fully sated.

Power metal with prog overtones is what we have here and from the opening bars of title track ‘Descent From Hell’ you know this is going to be a cracker. The thing that hits you first is the impressive virtuoso guitar work of Kai Reuter which underpins all the tracks. Whether belting out the riffs or playing finger melting solos Kai is a joy to listen to. The rhythm section, Micha Fromm on drums and Hannes Vesper on bass, work away tirelessly throughout, whilst vocalist Oliver Oppermann provides a soaring vocal accompaniment.

Second track ‘Black Rain’ is one of the outstanding numbers on the album. An absolutely stonking double bass drum led tour de force with a great chorus and fantastic riffing and soloing. The album’s big ballad is up next in the shape of ‘Dragon Tears’, an acoustic number in the best Scorpions tradition and an impressive interlude in the sea of heaviness.

Another album highlight follows in the shape of ‘Here Comes The Flood’, a cover of the Peter Gabriel song which is given a metal makeover to great effect. This is a seriously good, epic version of a classic song with skilful playing from all the band. Other highpoints come in the shape of prog metal workout ‘Second Sun’, the very metal ‘The Innocent’ and ‘Sinner’s Addiction’ which is another fast paced prog metal workout with time changes aplenty.

This is a cracking album that any power/prog metal fan should have in their collection. The guys are out on tour across the UK soon and it promises to be one not to miss, see you down the front !


David Wilson

Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

Power Plays w/c 16 September (Mon-Fri)

BLOCK BUSTER Losing Gravity (Frontiers)
WATCH ME BREATHE Don’t Think I Haven’t Thought About It (The Label Group/INGrooves)
FIRES OF FREYA Take A Bow (indie)
BLACK STAR RIDERS Underneath The Afterglow (Nuclear Blast)
STOMPIN’ HEAT Shiny Curly Red Hair (indie)

Featured Albums w/c 16 September (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 THE DEFIANTS Zokusho (Frontiers)
12:00-13:00 CORELEONI II (AFM Records)
14:00-16:00 TONY McLOUGHLIN True Native (Fuego)

Albums That Time Forgot (Mon-Fri)

BAD COMPANY Company Of Strangers (1995)

Email This Page
This entry was posted in ALBUM REVIEWS, ALBUM REVIEWS (Mobile), All Posts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply