THRESHOLD – March Of Progress

Nuclear Blast

A lot has happened in the Threshold camp since their last album 2007’s ‘Dead Reckoning’. Vocalist Damian Wilson is back in the band and then last year saw the sad passing of former vocalist Andrew ‘Mac’ McDermott, plus this new album was originally down for a 2011 release. Finally the new album is here and it is a classic Threshold release – those unmistakable guitar riffs, swathes of keyboards and melodies that fit the metal mayhem to a tee.

‘That’s Why We Came’ is a perfect vehicle to highlight Damian Wilson’s vocals, one minute quiet and melodious, the next soaring to the roof tops on the chorus. Add in the guitar and keyboard flurries of Richard West and you have a classic tune. For those fans after some lengthy, prog metal workouts look no further then ‘The Rubicon’ where drummer Johanne James  shows other how it is done. It’s not all about speed on drums but more how you fit the music rather than try and take over. ‘Don’t Look Down’ is an instant hit on the ears and is sure to become a live staple. ‘Colophon’ on the other hand sees the band produce a straight ahead piece of metal and taps into the band’s heavier side. ‘The Return Of The Thought Police’ carries on where ‘Pilot In A Sea Of Dreams’ left off. Sure to please long time fans of the band.

It has been worth the wait as Threshold have delivered once again and their future looks assured once again with Damian Wilson back in the fold.


Jason Ritchie

Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

Pete Feenstra celebrated his 300th show in October 2019. Pete heads up a five-hour blues rock marathon when “Tuesday is Bluesday” from 19:00 GMT. Listen out also for his interview-based Feature show on Sundays (20:00 GMT)

Power Plays w/c 25 November (Mon-Fri)

Throughout December we are featuring Best of 2019 selections from the GRTR! Reviewers.

Featured Albums w/c 25 November (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 Melodic Rock Featured Albums of 2019
12:00-13:00 Melodic Hard Rock Featured Albums of 2019
14:00-16:00 Singer Songwriter Featured Albums of 2019

Albums That Time Forgot (Mon-Fri)

A selection of albums featured in 2019

Email This Page
This entry was posted in ALBUM REVIEWS, ALBUM REVIEWS (Mobile), All Posts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to THRESHOLD – March Of Progress

  1. Pingback: 10Q's with RICHARD WEST of THRESHOLD - Get Ready to ROCK! Interviews

Leave a Reply