Album review: BREED 77 – The Evil Inside



Frostmetal (Release date – out now)

Breed 77 have always been an interesting band, mixing heavy, post grunge riffs with a bit of latin flair to produce a unique sound. This album is the band’s first in three years, following on from ‘Insects’ and once again the guys have produced the goods.

The album opens with a great double whammy of ‘Drown’ and ‘Broken Pieces’, both of which encapsulate the band’s sound perfectly and set the tone for what’s to come. The guys like to keep things interesting and change pace and style frequently throughout, there are also plenty of flamenco like acoustic interludes as on ‘ Low’ to lighten the mood and show off the talents of Danny and Pedro on guitar.

As if to prove their metal credentials the guys also rock hard and heavy on the songs ‘2 Face’ and ‘Fear’, but it is on the introspective track ‘ Motionless’ that the guys excel. This is a slow burning, track with an emotional vocal delivery from Paul Isola and again some great guitar work that goes together to create and epic rock ballad .

There are also some live bonus tracks on the deluxe version of the album including a cover version of the Alice Cooper classic ‘Poison’ and two live tracks including ‘Ciego’ and ‘The Battle Of Hatin’ which are worthwhile additions.

Breed 77 have released yet another solid album which should see them achieve further success through Europe and beyond. This is album number five from the guys and once again proves that they have the talent and drive to rock at the very highest levels, impressive stuff.

David Wilson

In his show broadcast on Get Ready to ROCK! Radio on 10 May David Randall played a further selection of artists and albums included in the new Features series, “2020 Vision”.

Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

Featured Albums w/c 25 May (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 FM Synchronized (Frontiers)
12:00-13:00 THE ROCKET DOLLS The Art Of Disconnect (indie)
14:00-16:00 BEN KUNDER Searching For The Stranger (indie)

Power Plays w/c 11 May (Mon-Fri)

THE MERCY KILLS Alone (Golden Robot Records)
DEAD REYNOLDS By Your Side (indie)
THE JAILBIRDS Watery Grave (Golden Robot Records)
ALI MASS & MICKY MOODY These Times (Last Man Music)
MASSIVE WAGONS Bangin In Your Stereo (Earache)
UDO We Are One (AFM Records)

Email This Page
This entry was posted in ALBUM REVIEWS, ALBUM REVIEWS (Mobile), All Posts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply