Album review: BONAFIDE – Bombo




Off Yer Rocka Recordings ( Release date – out now)

Bombo is the 4th album to be released by Swedish rockers Bonafide. I have had a passing interest in the band since hearing their party anthem ‘Fill Your Head With Rock’, but this is the first full release I have listened to from the band.

On first listen I wasn’t that impressed, writing the band off as a mediocre AC/DC worshiping rock outfit. However listen to the album a few more times and the disc reveals itself as a well written hard rock album with some clever tongue in cheek lyrics and quirky tempo changes which make more sense on the second or third listen.

Opening track ‘Bombo’ is a short, sharp rocker which owes a lot to the Young brothers but has the Bonafide stamp firmly on it. ‘Backroom Entertainment’ follows which again rocks hard and contains a good chorus. Highlight of the album for me was the double header of the ballad ‘Harmony’ and the all-out rocker ‘Better Safe Than Sorry’ which is a cautionary little tale on living the sex, drugs and rock ‘n’ roll life style.

The four piece are never less than entertaining over the course of the 10 tracks featured. Yes, there are plenty of AC/DC references in there with a little Extreme added into the mix at times ( try the track ‘Liquid Lover’ and imagine Gary Cherone on vocals), but it’s all damn good fun. The band are heading out on tour soon in support to The Quireboys, now that should be a show not to be missed and one that is, like this album, sure to raise a smile.


Review by David Wilson

David Randall plays a selection of new and classic rock in his weekly show first broadcast 14 June 2020 including reference to the Feature series “2020 Vision”.

Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

Featured Albums w/c 22 June (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 INTELLIGENT MUSIC PROJECT V – Life Motion (Intelligent Music)
12:00-13:00 HOUSE OF LORDS New World, New Eyes (Frontiers)
14:00-16:00 BEN HEMMING Broken Road (indie)

Power Plays w/c 22 June (Mon-Fri)

SKYFEVER Is This The End Of The World (indie)
JD SIMO One Of Those Days (Crows Feets Records)
JAMES WARREN Everybody’s Got To Learn Sometime (Singsong Music)
THE BLACK MOODS Sunshine (indie)
EKKO PARK All Eyes On Me (Dinner For Wolves)
LARKIN POE Holy Ghost Fire (Tricki-Woo Records)
GILBY CLARKE (Golden Robot Records)

Email This Page
This entry was posted in ALBUM REVIEWS, ALBUM REVIEWS (Mobile), All Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply