Album review: MOJO FURY – The Difference Between

Mojo Fury - The Difference Between

Graphite Records [Release date: 21.10.13]

Mojo Fury’s last album was perhaps more memorable for its title ‘Visiting Hours Of A Travelling Circus’.  Like many of the indie releases we get through the door here at GRTR! the music – and band – seemed to merge with the competition.  That was  2011.  Fast forward to 2013 and their second album offering is altogether more measured and assured … and quite wonderful.

The band have evidently worked hard to craft a simply joyous album that offers up 12 solid nuggets.  It also shows the band heavying things up when they want to – as on their debut -  with songs like ‘The Difference Between’ and ‘Medusa’ – whilst there are even pomp prog overtones (‘Tear The World Apart’, ‘Salty Sticky Hearts’).

The bombastic opener ‘Safe In the Arms Of Sound’ sounds like an outtake from The Beatles session that produced ‘A Day In The Life’ but it sets the bar – and our expectation – high.

‘Origami Bird’ and ‘Money Body Body Money’ have an infectious modern synth funk groove whilst ‘Iris Influential’ is a prime slice of slower atmospheric  pop/funk.

Elsewhere there is a mix of the anthemic (‘All In Awe’, ‘If I Die’) and all usually underpinned with the band’s signature electronic rhythms.  It’s as much Johnny Hates Jazz as Johnny Marr, although the band have also been compared to Foo Fighters and Nine Inch Nails.  ‘The Difference Between’ is far less frenetic than its predecessor.

Fashioned with the help of a Pledge Music campaign, after a promising if somewhat derivative debut this should be the album to announce the firm arrival of this engaging bunch from Belfast.  ***1/2

Review by David Randall

David Randall presents ‘Assume The Position’ on Get Ready to ROCK! Radio every Sunday at 22:00 GMT.

Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

Pete Feenstra celebrated his 300th show in October 2019. Pete heads up a five-hour blues rock marathon when “Tuesday is Bluesday” from 19:00 GMT. Listen out also for his interview-based Feature show on Sundays (20:00 GMT)

Power Plays w/c 28 October (Mon-Fri)

COLLATERAL Mr Big Shot (Roulette Media Records)
BABY HUSBAND Stop Thinking About Tomorrow (indie)
OF ALLIES Off The Map (indie)
MARISA AND THE MOTHS – Slave (indie)
CATTLE AND CANE I Wish I Knew Jesus (Like I Do)
KING VOODOO Creep (indie)

Featured Albums w/c 28 October (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 UNRULY CHILD Big Blue World (Frontiers)
12:00-13:00 REDLINE Gods & Monsters (Escape Music)
14:00-16:00 WILDWOOD KIN (Silvertone/Sony)

Albums That Time Forgot (Mon-Fri)

MAGNUM Sleepwalking (1992)

Email This Page
This entry was posted in ALBUM REVIEWS, ALBUM REVIEWS (Mobile), All Posts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply