Album review: THE SWEET – The Answer

Angel Air

This album first came out under the title ‘A’ back in 1992 and was also released as ‘The Answer’. This Angel Air re-issue includes three bonus songs, all of which are various edits or in one case a hard rock version of songs on the main album. The line-up featured sole original member guitarist Andy Scott joined by vocalist Mal McNulty (last seen fronting Slade II before he left recently), drummer Bodo Schopf (Falco/MSG), guitars/keyboards player Steve Mann (MSG/Lionheart/Tytan) and bassist Jeff Brown.

‘Do As I Say’ is classic Sweet from the classy guitar riff through to the high harmonies on the chorus. There are a few clunkers though with ‘Nouveau Rock Star’ and ‘Marshall Stack’, the latter veers too close to Spinal Tap territory for comfort! Mind you listening to that song you can see why Mal McNulty was tapped up for Slade II as he sounds like Noddy Holder on this one.

‘Natural’ and ‘Mind’ provide some mid paced relief midway through the album, although ‘When Friends Fall Out’ sounds as though it would be more at home with Andy Scott’s solo work. The band excel on ‘Is It True’, a power ballad done Sweet style. and one of the better songs on the album.

There are a few covers on the album including a Quo like romp through ‘Am I Ever Going To See Your Face Again’ originally by The Angels. The other notable cover is ‘X-Ray Spec’s’, originally recorded by Norwegian pop star Ole Evenrud and the song’s cheeky lyric fits the Sweet perfectly. Speaking of cheeky, the band do an mickey take of Motley Crue on ‘Crudely Mott’, even borrowing Motley Crue’s ‘Dr. Feelgood’ riff, which they in turn ‘borrowed’ from the Sweet.

If you are a fan of the Sweet, especially their harder edged music, then this album is worth getting if you don’t already have it. Possibly a few too many fillers but when the band hit their stride the songs can hold their own with earlier Sweet music.


Review by Jason Ritchie

In his show broadcast on Get Ready to ROCK! Radio on 10 May David Randall played a further selection of artists and albums included in the new Features series, “2020 Vision”.

Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

Featured Albums w/c 11 May (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 CHAMPLIN, WILLIAMS, FRIESTEDT II (Black Lodge)
12:00-13:00 VANDENBERG 2020 (Mascot)
14:00-16:00 MICHAEL McDERMOTT What In The World (Pauper Sky Records)

Power Plays w/c 11 May (Mon-Fri)

SAVANNAH POPE He Sees Me (indie)
GLASS OCEAN Beyond Us (indie)
BLIND RIVER – Burn The Sun (indie)
BEYOND THE BLACK Wounded Healer (Napalm Records)
BAD TOUCH Too Much Of A Good Thing (Marshall Records)
HOUSE OF LORDS Chemical Rush (Frontiers)

Email This Page
This entry was posted in ALBUM REVIEWS, ALBUM REVIEWS (Mobile), All Posts, Reissues and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply