Album review – LAWLESS – R.I.S.E.

Lawless - R.I.S.E.

Escape Music [Released 08.12.14]

Quick follow-up from the band’s debut album ‘Rock Savage’ released last year sees Lawless carry on with their classy brand of melodic/classic Brit metal. The band feature two members of Demon – vocalist/rhythm guitarist Paul Hume and drummer Neil Ogden, Persian Risk guitarist Howie G and bassist Josh Williams (Headrush).

’1914 (Ghosts Of No Man’s Land)’ starts the album off with bagpipes and a spoken intro about how in the First World War thousands of pipers lost their lives. A heavy, yet poignant start to the album. They keep the pedal to the metal on ‘Twisted And Burned’ and ‘Rise’, the latter sounds like Demon’s more recent output. ‘Heaven’s Raining’ they add a little Far Eastern touch to the music and Howie G shines again with his guitar heroics. With its epic feel not a million miles from what Ten do so well.

‘Song For A Friend’ is the ballad on the album, a good chance for Paul Hume to show what a strong voice he has. The band do also peddle a couple of 80′s hair metal type songs, with the Whitesnake/The Cult approved ‘Kiss My Glass’  the pick of the crop. It is a corny of course but that’s the whole point, it’s a bit of ‘giggle music’ as Dame Coverdale calls it.

Lawless have released two very enjoyable albums and there are not many newer bands producing classic hard rock/metal in the style of bands like Saxon. ****

Review by Jason Ritchie


David Randall plays a selection of new and classic rock in his weekly show first broadcast 14 June 2020 including reference to the Feature series “2020 Vision”.

Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

Featured Albums w/c 6 July (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 MANDOKI SOULMATES Living In The Gap (Red Rock Production/Cleopatra)
12:00-13:00 MAGNUS KARLSSON’S FREE FALL – We Are The Night (Frontiers)
14:00-16:00 BEN REEL The Nashville Calling (B.Reel Records)

Power Plays w/c 6 July (Mon-Fri)

ZENITH MOON Gypsy (Golden Robot Records)
RARITY Leave It Alone (New Damage Records)
THE RISING I Want You (indie)
MANDOKI SOULMATES Young Rebels (Red Rock Production/Cleopatra)
LA GUNS Well Oiled Machine (Golden Robot Records)

Email This Page
This entry was posted in ALBUM REVIEWS, ALBUM REVIEWS (Mobile), All Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply