Album review: IMPERA – Empire Of Sin

IMPERA - Empire Of Sin

Escape Music [Release date 26.01.15]

This is the third album from Impera since 2012 when they released their debut album. They were formed around drummer JK Impera (Bruce Kulick/Graham Bonnet), who is joined by guitarist Tommy Denander (who has played on hundreds of albums including Alice Cooper, Paul Stanley), vocalist Matti Alfonzetti (once of Jagged Edge and now in Red, White & Blues) and bassist Matts Vassfjord (Grand Design).

On this album they have found their sound, namely hard rock/melodic metal and at times reminiscent of Tony Martin-era Black Sabbath on a song like ‘The Beast Is Dead’. ‘Don’t Stop’ is a beast of a melodic hard rock tune, with a cracking chorus and crunching guitar riffs and solos.

Matti Alfonzetti suits the music really well, be it on the slower ‘Darling’ or the big metal beast that is ‘Evil (Become A Believer)’, a tune that would sound great in a live setting. Europe bassist John Leven pops up (playing guitar) on ‘Thunder In Your Heart’, which he also co-wrote. Again, good solid hard rocking and fits well in the album’s overall sound.

Overall their best album to date, as it has a more cohesive sound and some strong songs. Their previous albums were perfectly listenable, just lacked too many songs to make you keep playing them again and again, which they have cracked on this album.  ****

Review by Jason Ritchie


The latest Facebook Live session from Canadian singer-songwriter Josh Taerk was streamed on Sunday 22 November.

More about Josh:

David Randall presents a weekly show on Get Ready to ROCK! Radio, Sundays at 22:00 BST (GMT+1, repeated on Mondays and Fridays), when he invites listeners to ‘Assume The Position’. This show was first broadcast on 15 November 2020.

UK Blues Broadcaster of the Year (2020) Pete Feenstra presents his weekly Rock & Blues Show on Tuesday at 19:00 ( BST, GMT+1) as part of a five hour blues rock marathon “Tuesday is Bluesday at GRTR!”. The show is repeated on Wednesdays at 22:00, Fridays at 20:00). This show was first broadcast 17 November 2020

Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

Featured Albums w/c 23 November (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 JEFF SCOTT SOTO Wide Awake (In My Dreamland) (Frontiers)
12:00-13:00 LAZARUS DREAM Alive (Pride & Joy Music)
14:00-16:00 RONAN FURLONG The King Of Leaves (Thoroughbred Music)

Power Plays w/c 23 November (Mon-Fri)

L.A. GUNS All That You Are (Golden Robot Records)
THE DUST CODA Limbo Man (Earache)
IRON SAVIOR Souleater (AFM Records)
IVY GOLD This Is My Time (indie)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
This entry was posted in ALBUM REVIEWS, ALBUM REVIEWS (Mobile), All Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply