Album review: LEVEL 10 – Chapter 1

Level 10 - Chapter 1

Frontiers [Released 27.01.14]

Level 10 is another Frontiers project hooking-up vocalist Russell Allen (Symphony X/Adrenaline Mob) and bassist/producer/writer Mat Sinner (Primal Fear/Sinner). They are joined by Primal Fear band members Randy Black (drums) and Alex Beyrodt (guitar), along with Roland Grapow (ex-Helloween) and ‘Mr Frontiers go-to-man’ Alessandro Del Vecchio.

The album is not like Primal Fear bar a couple of songs, so don’t go expecting that and one band that did come to mind were Rainbow. On ‘Cry No More’ and ‘Voice Of The Wilderness’ it does sound like Joe Lynn Turner era Rainbow, mainly in the vocals and the keyboard flourishes of Alessandro Del Vecchio.

The metal side shows through more on ‘Demonized’, there is a Judas Priest riff in this beast of a song! ‘Soul Of A Warrior’  is a very catchy metal tune, heralded by some tinkly keys and a pulsing bass line throughout the song. The harmony vocals really make this song special, an album highlight. A couple of songs let the side down a little, namely the plodding ‘Scream And Shout’.

Russell Allen does the softer songs very well indeed, often overlooked in his normal powerful and bombastic vocal. ‘All Hope Is Gone’ is a real vocal tour de force from Allen, backed by lush musical arrangements.

Good album and one for fans of the mighty vocals of Russell Allen. Hopefully there will be another chapter in this story. ***1/2

Review by Jason Ritchie

Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

In this show, first broadcast on Get Ready to ROCK! Radio on 2 February 2020, David Randall plays a selection of tracks from some of the artists who impressed at this year’s Giants Of Rock event in Minehead (24-27 January).

Featured Albums w/c 17 February (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 NEWMAN Ignition (AOR Heaven)
12:00-13:00 BLACK SWAN Shake The World (Frontiers)
14:00-16:00 CORMAC O CAOIMH Swim Crawl Walk Run (indie)

Power Plays w/c 17 February (Mon-Fri)

SHAKRA Turn The Light On (AFM Records)
THE NIGHT FLIGHT ORCHESTRA Transmissions (Nuclear Blast)
RYDERS CREED Lost Soul (Off Yer Rocka Recordings)
FRAMING HANLEY Puzzle Pieces (Thermal Entertainment LLC)
ROBERT HART Mysterious (Escape Music)

Email This Page
This entry was posted in ALBUM REVIEWS, ALBUM REVIEWS (Mobile), All Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply