Album review: JOSH TAERK – Here’s To Change

Josh Taerk

Misty Creek Records [Release date 20.07.15]

Josh Taerk is back with his second album, after good reviews for his 2013 debut album. This time he has upped the ante by recording in Nashville, joined by bassist Park Chisholm and drummer Richard Medek. The sound is a lot richer and fuller than on the debut which was much more acoustic based.

Lead song is the excellent ‘Here’s To Change’, an instant hit on the ears and it features a guest vocal from John Oates (who also appears on ‘Wise Man’). One of those songs that you want to keep playing over and over. His Springsteen influences come out on the rousing ‘The Mirror’, a song made for the big stages.

‘After The Fall’ nicely bridges his debut album’s acoustic sound with a bigger production as the strings come swopping in on the choruses. This song and the title track really show how Josh Taerk is progressing as an artist (and he is only 24!). Keeping with the slower paced songs ‘Stay’ features a melancholy fiddle and lyrics that have universal appeal, based on romance.

‘Take A Chance With Me’ is another catchy uptempo number and reminded me of the Hold Steady, albeit not quite as frantic. This song also features a tasty guitar solo and piano.

I really hope this album breaks Josh as he has put the hours in touring and certainly put a lot of effort into this album.  He set out to make an album that was in tune with the artists that inspired him like Springsteen and Tom Petty, job done and then some. ****

Review by Jason Ritchie

Interview (June 2015)
Gig review (June 2015)

On Sunday 28 July 2019, David Randall celebrated his 600th show. “Assume The Position” started in June 2007 on UK City Radio before transferring a year later to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio. The show includes tracks played on the first show plus Upton Blues Festival highlights, new music and the regular features “Live Legends” and “Anniversary Rock” which this week celebrates the Island Records label 60th anniversary.

Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

Power Plays w/c 19 August (Mon-Fri)

BEFORE FIRE Dead Eyes (indie)
SCOTT & MARIA Never Give Up (indie)
CORELEONI Queen Of Hearts (AFM Records)
BERLIN Transcendance (Cleopatra Records)
PHIL CAMPBELL These Old Boots (Nuclear Blast)
PHIL LANZON Blue Mountain (Phil Lanzon Ditties/Cargo Records UK)

Featured Albums w/c 19 August (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 SOLEIL MOON Warrior (Frontiers)
12:00-13:00 ROXY BLUE Roxy Blue (Frontiers)
14:00-16:00 DREW HOLCOMB & THE NEIGHBORS Dragons (Magnolia Music/Thirty Tigers)

Albums That Time Forgot (Mon-Fri)

JAMES STEVENSON Everything’s Getting Closer To Being Over (2013)

Email This Page
This entry was posted in ALBUM REVIEWS, ALBUM REVIEWS (Mobile), All Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Album review: JOSH TAERK – Here’s To Change

  1. Pingback: The Essential Weekly Playlist of: Josh Taerk |

Leave a Reply