TREETOP FLYERS – Palomino [Release date 11.03.16]

This is the second album from this London five piece and listening to the album you would think you were back in the 1970′s and the West Coast sound of artists like Crosby, Stills & Nash. Mind you they also include 70′s Nigerian psych rock and jazz according to the press release – the free form jazz influence can be heard on ‘Never Been As Hard’.

Vocalist Reid Morrison has a vocal not dissimilar to Neil Young and the band chip in with glorious harmonies on songs like ‘You, Darling You’ – about a failed marriage – and ‘It’s A Shame’. The band have been earning rave reviews and rightly so as they have tapped into a classic sound and given it their own twist and modern update.  ***1/2

Review by Jason Ritchie

SERENITY - Codex Atlantus

SERENITY – Codex Atlantus Napalm Records [Release date 29.01.16]

Serenity are band I knew of, however not heard much music by, and my loss as based on this album I will be seeking out their back catalogue pronto. Serenity themselves have had a big line-up change prior to this album with the departure of lead guitarist Thomas Buchberger and vocalist Clementine Delauney. Chris Tian comes in on guitar and vocalist Georg Neuhauser is back as the sole vocalist again.

The band use orchestrations to the max and for once they use a bit more than the usual strings samples. Georg Neuhauser has a melodic and soaring vocal, with songs like ‘Caught In A Myth’ and ‘Fate Of Light’ recalling the mighty Kamelot and Aussie power metal band Voyager. They know their way around a decent melody as can be heard on ‘Follow Me’, with the guitar and keys melding nicely together.

Good to find another power/symphonic metal band that stands out from a very crowded field. Recommended to fellow fans of Kamelot, Voyager and Orden Ogan.  ****

Review by Jason Ritchie

Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

In this show, first broadcast on Get Ready to ROCK! Radio on 2 February 2020, David Randall plays a selection of tracks from some of the artists who impressed at this year’s Giants Of Rock event in Minehead (24-27 January).

Featured Albums w/c 17 February (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 NEWMAN Ignition (AOR Heaven)
12:00-13:00 BLACK SWAN Shake The World (Frontiers)
14:00-16:00 CORMAC O CAOIMH Swim Crawl Walk Run (indie)

Power Plays w/c 17 February (Mon-Fri)

SHAKRA Turn The Light On (AFM Records)
THE NIGHT FLIGHT ORCHESTRA Transmissions (Nuclear Blast)
RYDERS CREED Lost Soul (Off Yer Rocka Recordings)
FRAMING HANLEY Puzzle Pieces (Thermal Entertainment LLC)
ROBERT HART Mysterious (Escape Music)

Email This Page
This entry was posted in ALBUM REVIEWS, ALBUM REVIEWS (Mobile), All Posts, Quick Plays and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply