Album review: GENERAL GREED – Rectifying For Justice

GENERAL GREED – Rectifying For Justice

Mountain Side Records [Release date 08.04.16]

Sometimes it’s the simple things in life that are the best. Far too often people overcomplicate matters and turn straight forward situations into major dramas. General Greed approach their music with a similar outlook, why go in for complicated chord structures and time changes when you can create good music based on a straight forward time signature and a few well chosen chords?

General Greed is based around the nucleus of Richard Loow on guitar and vocals and Andreas Rosen on bass. Both were previously in Looks Like Lucy before the band split in 2015 and they then started working on some new material, the fruits of which are released here.

As I say this is straightforward melodic rock with a nod to the rhythmic riffing style of Volbeat. No particular song stands out such is the nature of the music but it is all enjoyable, not sure if that is a complement or not?

The vocal delivery of Richard Loow is very clear and concise as he enunciates every word perfectly, he speaks better English than many in the UK! The one thing that may go against the band is the lack of a stand out track or two. If I was pushed to pick a favourite it would be ‘Firestorm’ as it does have a memorable hook, the others are good tracks but lacking character perhaps?

I did have to listen to this album a couple of times to form an opinion as I really wasn’t sure on the first spin whether there was enough content to keep the listener engaged. The second listen convinced me that General Greed had succeeded in keeping things simple and entertaining, but it could have so easily gone the other way.  ***

Review by Dave Wilson 

David Randall plays a selection of new and classic rock in his weekly show first broadcast 14 June 2020 including reference to the Feature series “2020 Vision”.

Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

Featured Albums w/c 22 June (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 INTELLIGENT MUSIC PROJECT V – Life Motion (Intelligent Music)
12:00-13:00 HOUSE OF LORDS New World, New Eyes (Frontiers)
14:00-16:00 BEN HEMMING Broken Road (indie)

Power Plays w/c 22 June (Mon-Fri)

SKYFEVER Is This The End Of The World (indie)
JD SIMO One Of Those Days (Crows Feets Records)
JAMES WARREN Everybody’s Got To Learn Sometime (Singsong Music)
THE BLACK MOODS Sunshine (indie)
EKKO PARK All Eyes On Me (Dinner For Wolves)
LARKIN POE Holy Ghost Fire (Tricki-Woo Records)
GILBY CLARKE (Golden Robot Records)

Email This Page
This entry was posted in ALBUM REVIEWS, ALBUM REVIEWS (Mobile), All Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply