News: VOODOO VEGAS new album and radio feature (30 October 2016)

In this special feature, Voodoo Vegas frontman Lawrence Case introduces several tracks from the album ‘Freak Show Candy Floss’. (First broadcast on Get Ready to ROCK! Radio on 30 October 2016 as part of ‘New to GRTR!’)

Voodoo Vegas - Freak Show Candy Floss

Bournemouth-based Voodoo Vegas release their second album on 4 November via PHD.

According to frontman Lawrence Case the band’s constant touring in the past couple of years (and since the release of their 2013 album debut) has improved their musical and songwriting craft.

The new album -  ‘Freak Show Candy Floss’ – features 10 tracks that rock hard but also challenge in the lyrical content.  For example the acoustic ballad ‘Sleeping In The Rain’ tackles the emotional subject of homelessness.  The album title reflects the band’s chosen lifestyle, the intensity of gigs (often only for a short space of time) and the “sweetness” of the music and gigs they play.

The album marks the band’s second collaboration with Guillermo “Will” Maya (The Answer) who also produced last year’s ‘Hypnotise’ EP, which featured the debut of their current line up.

In the first review of the album, GRTR!’s Mark Shaw commented “Taking a baseball bat to the oft-quoted “difficult second album” syndrome, Voodoo Vegas prove that it’s not that hard to forge a damn good follow-up if you’ve got real talent. On the basis that what critics want is “something the same but better”, Voodoo Vegas have produced a new album of revved-up rock which encapsulates their innate Britishness, honed by hard work touring the European festival circuits..”

On Sunday 30 October in the weekly ‘New to GRTR!’ sequence on Get Ready to ROCK! Radio (21:00 GMT), Lawrence Case introduces several tracks from the album.

Album review

Band website

UK Tour dates

4th Nov – POOLE – Mr Kyps
5th Nov – ANDOVER – The Lights
10th Dec – BASINGSTOKE – Stage Live
10th March – HRH AOR

Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

Pete Feenstra celebrated his 300th show in October 2019. Pete heads up a five-hour blues rock marathon when “Tuesday is Bluesday” from 19:00 GMT. Listen out also for his interview-based Feature show on Sundays (20:00 GMT)

Power Plays w/c 28 October (Mon-Fri)

COLLATERAL Mr Big Shot (Roulette Media Records)
BABY HUSBAND Stop Thinking About Tomorrow (indie)
OF ALLIES Off The Map (indie)
MARISA AND THE MOTHS – Slave (indie)
CATTLE AND CANE I Wish I Knew Jesus (Like I Do)
KING VOODOO Creep (indie)

Featured Albums w/c 28 October (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 UNRULY CHILD Big Blue World (Frontiers)
12:00-13:00 REDLINE Gods & Monsters (Escape Music)
14:00-16:00 WILDWOOD KIN (Silvertone/Sony)

Albums That Time Forgot (Mon-Fri)

MAGNUM Sleepwalking (1992)

Email This Page
This entry was posted in Album News, All Posts, Get Ready to ROCK! Radio, NEWS. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply