BLUE ROSE CODE The Water Of Leith

Navigator Records [Release date 27.10.17]

Blue Rose Code is in fact singer songwriter Ross Wilson and he has already gained an impressive set of fans including actors Denis Lawson and Ewan McGregor, along with author and big music fan Ian Rankin (who provided sleeve notes to the album). Ross Wilson is joined by Wild Lyle Watt (guitar), John Lowrie (keyboard, drums) and Iain Sloan (pedal steel) amongst others.

Opening with the blissful ‘Over The Fields (For John)’, which features Beth Nielsen Chapman and uilleann pipes,  it sets the bar high for the rest of the album. Not a problem really with the lyrics and musical ideas from Ross Wilson, be it the light, breezy jazz on ‘Bluebell’ or the uplifting pop of ‘Ebb & Flow’. He makes it seem so easy, as there are no fillers on here and the musicianship is of the highest quality.

The nine minutes of the instrumental ‘The Water’ features piano and a trumpet, that swirl and switch between classical, jazz and more.

In these days of streaming and instant downloads, it is always good to take time to stop and actually listen to an album from start to finish. Do yourself a favour and give this wonderful album your full attention. ****

Review by Jason Ritchie

AUTOBAHN The Moral Crossing

Tough Love Records [Release date 03.11.17]

Leeds punk band Autobahn return with their second album and one they recorded in their own self-built studio under a disused bridge – that’s real dedication to your musical belief right there.

A musical melting pot that’s for sure, drawing on such influences as Joy Division and on the synth heavy ‘Future’ reminding me of Gary Numan & Tubeway Army, impressive stuff. That song is the most radio friendly on here, as elsewhere it can be hard going at times such as on ‘Low/High’.

Autobahn have total belief in their songs and music, no bandwagon jumping from this lot. ’The Moral Crossing’ will doubtless see them travel further along the road to success. ***

Review by Jason Ritchie

In his show broadcast on Get Ready to ROCK! Radio on 10 May David Randall played a further selection of artists and albums included in the new Features series, “2020 Vision”.

Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

Featured Albums w/c 25 May (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 FM Synchronized (Frontiers)
12:00-13:00 THE ROCKET DOLLS The Art Of Disconnect (indie)
14:00-16:00 BEN KUNDER Searching For The Stranger (indie)

Power Plays w/c 11 May (Mon-Fri)

THE MERCY KILLS Alone (Golden Robot Records)
DEAD REYNOLDS By Your Side (indie)
THE JAILBIRDS Watery Grave (Golden Robot Records)
ALI MASS & MICKY MOODY These Times (Last Man Music)
MASSIVE WAGONS Bangin In Your Stereo (Earache)
UDO We Are One (AFM Records)

Email This Page
This entry was posted in ALBUM REVIEWS, ALBUM REVIEWS (Mobile), All Posts, Quick Plays and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply