Album review: RONNIE MONTROSE – 10×10


Rhino [Release date 29.09.17]

Renowned guitarist Ronnie Montrose sadly passed in 2012, having left a long hard rock legacy, best known for his work with Gamma, Edgar Winter, Johnny Winter and Sammy Hagar as well as his eponymous band Montrose.

Before he died, Ronnie started work on this project, 10 songs with 10 lead vocalists, a project featuring bassist Ricky Phillips (Styx, Bad English) and drummer Eric Singer (Kiss, Alice Cooper). Phillips completed the project after Montrose died and it’s as good as it looks.

Opener Heavy Traffic, featuring Mr Big’s Eric Martin, is a track that makes the whole album worthwhile. Strong powerful clear vocals that rock sing and scream with aplomb, it’s a classic hard rock song that transcends eras, this could be 1982, 1992 or 2002.

‘Love Is An Art’ features both Edgar Winter and Rick Derringer, there’s guitar solos and rich keyboards here, and some mean and moody vocals. Bluesy hard rock at its best, and some decent saxophone too.

Even the Sammy Hagar fronted ‘Color Blind’ sounds good, Steve Lukather’s guitar standing out, and backing vocals from the likes of Jeff Scott Soto.

Montrose produces some fine guitar throughout, on some fantastic songs, it’s a moody hard rock with an edge that moves from dry to blues and back. There’s even an element of funk in the Glenn Hughes sung ‘Still Singin’ With The Band’ (a track that also features Def Leppard’s Phil Collen).

Jeff Scott Soto appears on several tracks, and guests throughout also include Davey Pattison (fantastic singer), Tommy Shaw and Joe Bonamassa. Quite an amazing line-up.

From chunky riffs to shred, bonus solos, and songs full with strong rhythms, backing vocals and occasional keyboards, it’s a hard rock album well worth searching out regardless of who’s on it. A fitting tribute indeed. ****1/2

Review by Joe Geesin

Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

Each week David Randall presents ‘New to GRTR!’ on Get Ready to ROCK! Radio, with the emphasis on independent artists and labels. During December he replays favourite tracks including power plays featured during the year. This show covers the period January-March and was first broadcast on 1 December 2019.

Power Plays w/c 25 November (Mon-Fri)

Throughout December we are featuring Best of 2019 selections from the GRTR! Reviewers.

Featured Albums w/c 25 November (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 Melodic Rock Featured Albums of 2019
12:00-13:00 Melodic Hard Rock Featured Albums of 2019
14:00-16:00 Singer Songwriter Featured Albums of 2019

Albums That Time Forgot (Mon-Fri)

A selection of albums featured in 2019

Email This Page
This entry was posted in ALBUM REVIEWS, ALBUM REVIEWS (Mobile), All Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply