Quick plays: ESP 2.0, ROAMER, UNRULY CHILD

ESP 2.0 - 22 Layers Of Sunlight

ESP 2.0 22 Layers Of Sunlight [Release date 20.04.18] www.suncreative.com

ESP released a very enjoyable prog rock album in 2016′s ‘Invisible Din’ and now they are back with a revamped line-up. Composer/producer/guitarist Tony Lowe and Big Country drummer Mark Brzezicki are joined by former Lotus Eaters vocalist Peter Coyle this time around.

The first album had a series of guest musicians, however this album has a more band feel about it as the aforementioned trio are joined by bassist Pete Clark and for live dates keyboardist Richard Smith (who plays piano on ‘Smiling Forever’).

It is a concept piece based on the ideas from Peter Coyle based on the near future where a cortex slave system runs the world via the world wide and a world inhabited by cyborgs.

The music is orchestral and sweeping in its scope, with lots of keyboards and the highly melodic vocals of Peter Coyle. Adding him to the line-up has added an extra dimension to ESP’s sound – the wonderful vocals and harmonies on the title track are a fine example of this, although they can still prog out on instrumentals like ‘Ride Through Reality’.

Mark Brzezicki really seems to come into his own playing in ESP, with a wonderful drum outro on ‘Algorithm’ and his steady, yet inventive playing driving along the music.

ESP 2.0 have done it again with another album full of intriguing and enjoyable music. ’22 Layers Of Sunlight’ will certainly propel them further into the upper echelons of progressive music. ****

Review by Jason Ritchie

ROAMER - What The Hell

ROAMER What The Hell [Release date 27.04.18] www.czarofcrickets.com

Roamer hail from Switzerland having released a couple of EPs to date. The band consists of Samuel Blatter (vocals, keys), Simon Rupp (guitar), Christian Weber (bass, vocals) and Martin Stebler (drums/vocals) and they have been working on and off for the past ten years to create this, their debut album.

Musically it walks the alternative rock path, sometimes recalling the Eels on ‘Sick Enough’ and hitting the spot on ‘There’s No Me’, a beast of a tune. Otherwise it is slim pickings and not an album that is going to really help Roamer stand out from the crowd. **1/2

Review by Jason Ritchie

UNRULY CHILD - Unhinged: Live From Milan

UNRULY CHILD Unhinged: Live From Milan Frontiers [Release date 23.02.18]

This was recorded last year at the Frontiers festival and it marked a special occasion as the band – all originals which is a novelty these days – performed the band’s 1992 self-titled debut album in full. Of course they arrived in the days of grunge which put paid to wider success the album deserved and indeed the band who split in 1992, before coming back in 1998 with Kelly Hansen replacing Marci Free on vocals.

Do they still have it in 2017? Oh yes indeed and they sail through ‘Let’s Talk About Love’ and ‘Is It Over’, Marci Free is on fine form and the keys soar at just the right time, AOR-tastic. ‘Who Cries Now’ ends of the debut album ends their set in style and a suitably rocking end.

A no brainer for fans of the band to own, plus the DVD adds ‘This Is Who I Am’, which isn’t on the CD. Unruly Child were back then and still are now, one of the leading melodic rock acts out there. ***1/2

Review by Jason Ritchie

David Randall presents a weekly show on Get Ready to ROCK! Radio, Sundays at 22:00 BST (GMT+1, repeated on Mondays and Fridays), when he invites listeners to ‘Assume The Position’. This show was first broadcast on 1 August 2021 and includes the Top 10 albums at www.getreadytorock.com for that week and an interview with “metal queen” Lee Aaron.

UK Blues Broadcaster of the Year (2020 and 2021 Finalist) Pete Feenstra presents his weekly Rock & Blues Show on Tuesday at 19:00 ( BST, GMT+1) as part of a five hour blues rock marathon “Tuesday is Bluesday at GRTR!”. The show is repeated on Wednesdays at 22:00, Fridays at 20:00). This show was first broadcast 7 September 2021.

Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.
You can Listen Again to shows via the presenter pages at www.getreadytorockradio.com

Featured Albums w/c 6 September 2021 (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 HEARTLAND Into The Future (Escape Music)
12:00-13:00 VEGA Anarchy And Unity (Frontiers)
14:00-16:00 JACKSON BROWNE Downhill From Everywhere (indie)

Power Plays w/c 20 September 2021 (Mon-Fri)

BAD TOUCH Twenty Five Miles (Marshall)
THE HUMAN VEIL Enemies (indie)
DIPLOMATIC IMMUNITY Now’s The Time (Golden Robot Records)
VANSLEEP Oceans (indie)
TRUE NORTH Save Me (Out Of Line Music)
SORROW & THE SPIRE In The City Tonight (Golden Robot Records)

Popular (last 30 days)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
This entry was posted in ALBUM REVIEWS, ALBUM REVIEWS (Mobile), ALL POSTS, Quick Plays and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply