Album review: CITY OF THIEVES – Beast Reality

CITY OF THIEVES - Beast Reality

Frontiers [Release date 12.10.18]

City Of Thieves (who evolved out of Four Wheel Drive), are one of Frontiers much touted ‘new breed’ of up and coming rock & metal bands. Fair play to Frontiers as they try and find the next set of bands in with a chance of arena sized success.

The trio of Jamie Lailey (vocals, bass) Ben Austwick (guitar) and Will Richards (drums), have been aided by Toby Jepson (Wayward Sons, Little Angels) who co-produces most of the songs, as well as adding percussion and backing vocals. Also the respected Mike Fraser (AC/DC, Aerosmith) mixed their debut EP and three of those songs are on this album.

They hit the spot on the Airbourne (or AC/DC as Airbourne owe a lot to them, as do City Of Thieves) like rockers ‘Animal’ and ‘Buzzed Up City’ – riff heavy with an in your face vocal. However, songs ‘Incinerator’ and ‘Born To Be Great’ lack a touch of musical magic. Enough on here to get them noticed, especially if you like no frills hard rock.

City Of Thieves face a lot of competition out there, not least from some bands on their label and ’Beast Reality’ isn’t a bad start. Album two will be the one that will make or break them, until then plenty of live shows should help spread the word. ***

Review by Jason Ritchie

Throughout September 2018 Get Ready to ROCK! Radio celebrated the station’s 10th anniversary and a two-hour special reflected a decade of broadcasting. “10 years in the making” features archive interviews with Ian Anderson (Jethro Tull), Todd Rundgren, Graham Bonnet, David Coverdale, John Wetton and Bob Catley.

More information
Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

Power Plays w/c 12 November 2018

STEPHEN PEARCY U Only Live Twice Frontiers)
NORTHWARD Timebomb (Nuclear Blast)
MASON HILL Hold On (indie)
RAINLIGHT Field Of Souls (indie)
EDEN’S CURSE Forever (AFM Records)

Featured Albums w/c 12 November (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 TEN Illuminati (Frontiers)
12:00-13:00 NORDIC UNION Second Coming (Frontiers)
14:00-16:00 LARKIN POE Venom & Faith (Proper Music)

Albums That Time Forgot (Mon-Fri)

18:00-19:00 MAGGIE REILLY Heaven Sent (2013)

Email This Page
This entry was posted in ALBUM REVIEWS, ALBUM REVIEWS (Mobile), All Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply