Album review: MIDNITE CITY – There Goes The Neighbourhood

MIDNITE CITY - There Goes The Neighbourhood

AOR Heaven [Release date 19.10.18]

Midnite City’s debut album released last year picked up favourable reviews with the band’s sound harking back to the 80′s hair metal of Poison, Danger Danger, Trixter et al. Album number two ‘There Goes The Neighbourhood’ sees vocalist Rob Wylde pen all the lyrics, with drummer Pete Newdeck handling production again (both worked on the recent Nitrate album, well worth a listen). Midnite City’s line-up is completed by lead guitarist Miles Meakin, keyboards player Shawn Charvette and bassist Josh Williams.

Kicking off the album is appropriately titled ‘Here Comes The Party’, complete with an intro that pays homage to KISS, a band that certainly crops up in Midnite City’s sound at times. The album has plenty of up tempo party rockers like ‘We’re Gonna Make It’ and ‘Give Me Love’, both are chock full of keys and vocal harmonies. Back in the 80′s these sort of songs would have been on constant rotation on MTV.

Rob Wylde has a singing style that recalls Danger Danger’s Paul Laine and Poison’s Brett Michaels – the later perhaps not surprising as Wylde fronts a Poison tribute band. He can turn on the emotion, as the ballad ‘Heaven’s Falling’ demonstrates. This one enters Warrant territory. Perfectly timed with the big uplift as the chorus comes in; Miles Meakin laying down a suitably show stopping solo.

The songs have a big sound as often hair metal/melodic rock like this can suffer from a thin drum sound and backing vocals sounding like they were recorded a couple of miles away – no issues like that on here.

Midnite City are on the up and up with the songs on this album to help them on their way. Get them on a support slot with Steel Panther and they will have a whole new audience opened up to them. ****

Review by Jason Ritchie

Get Ready to ROCK! Radio

More information
Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

Power Plays w/c 15 October 2018

BIRDSONG AT MORNING Waterfall (Blue Gentian Records)
GUN RUNNERS Save Our Souls (indie)
THE BUZNIKS Nail It To The Floor (3MS Music)
NAZARETH The Secret Is Out (Frontiers)
CITY OF THIEVES Fuel And Alcohol (Frontiers)

Featured Albums w/c 15 October (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 STEVE PERRY Traces (BMG)
12:00-13:00 URIAH HEEP Living The Dream (Frontiers)
14:00-16:00 BIRDSONG AT MORNING Signs And Wonders (Blue Gentian Records)

Albums That Time Forgot (Mon-Fri)

18:00-19:00 STEVE MORSE/SARAH SPENCER Angelfire (2010)

Email This Page
This entry was posted in ALBUM REVIEWS, ALBUM REVIEWS (Mobile), All Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply