Album review: OSO OSO – Basking In The Glow

OSO OSO – Basking In The Glow

Triple Crown Records [Released date 16.08.19]

The third full album from emo power pop band Oso Oso which is basically Jade Lilitri. Normally his music delves into the pessimistic part of his creative side, however on ‘Basking In The Glow’ sees him letting a little light into his songwriting and music.

Musically the songs have plenty of power pop, not dissimilar to the Posies at times particularly on the title track and the lead single ‘Dig’. The latter has a wondrous vocal performance from Jade Lilitri, along with crisp power pop guitar chords.

‘Wake Up Next To God’ adds a bit of pace to the proceedings, perhaps another single given the driving melody and catchy chorus. Mind you, ‘A Morning Song’ is another strong contender for a featured track release.

The lyrics may be a little more upbeat than expected, but there is still enough on here to satisfy Oso Oso’s emo fanbase and anyone who likes a bit of thoughtful power pop. ***1/2

Review by Jason Ritchie

Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

Each week David Randall presents ‘New to GRTR!’ on Get Ready to ROCK! Radio, with the emphasis on independent artists and labels. During December he replays favourite tracks including power plays featured during the year. This show covers the period January-March and was first broadcast on 1 December 2019.

Power Plays w/c 25 November (Mon-Fri)

Throughout December we are featuring Best of 2019 selections from the GRTR! Reviewers.

Featured Albums w/c 25 November (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 Melodic Rock Featured Albums of 2019
12:00-13:00 Melodic Hard Rock Featured Albums of 2019
14:00-16:00 Singer Songwriter Featured Albums of 2019

Albums That Time Forgot (Mon-Fri)

A selection of albums featured in 2019

Email This Page
This entry was posted in ALBUM REVIEWS, ALBUM REVIEWS (Mobile), All Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply