EP review: DIRTY VERTEBRAE – Tense


The Animal Farm [Release date 06.12.19]

Dirty Vertebrae are made up of singer Nicole, rapper Ash P, drummer Scott, bassist Gaz and guitarist Chris, who were all born within a few miles of each other near Northwich, Cheshire.

An interesting mix as Nicole’s melodic singing mixes well with the rap patter of Ash P. Nice funky beat on ‘Tippex’ with a big guitar riff come the chorus, whilst ‘News At 10’ turns the negativity of news on its head. The accompanying video is well worth watching to see a band having fun and making good music.

‘Wormin’ closes off this EP and whilst not quite as good as the previous two songs, it still has a decent groove.

Don’t fear the rapper as Dirty Vertebrae have created their own sound and definitely a band to keep an eye on in 2020 and beyond. ***1/2

Review by Jason Ritchie

David Randall presents a weekly show on Get Ready to ROCK! Radio, Sundays at 22:00 BST (GMT+1, repeated on Mondays and Fridays), when he invites listeners to ‘Assume The Position’. This show was first broadcast on 26 July.. In the first hour David pays tribute to the blues/rock guitarist Peter Green.

Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

Featured Albums w/c 3 August (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 LIONVILLE Magic Is Alive (Frontiers)
12:00-13:00 MAD MAX Stormchild Rising (SPV)
14:00-16:00 MARY COUGHLAN Life Stories (2020)

Power Plays w/c 3 August (Mon-Fri)

SOUTH OF SALEM Cold Day In Hell (indie)
BLACK LESION Sins (indie)
CAROLINE JONES All Of The Boys (Social Family Records)
BLACK SUN Resist (Rockshot Records)
THE JAILBIRDS Dull My Brain (Golden Robot Records)
FROM ASHES TO NEW Scars That I’m Hiding (Better Noise Records)
THE GEORGIA THUNDERBOLTS Spirit Of A Workin’ Man (Mascot)

Email This Page
This entry was posted in All Posts, Single and EP reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply