Album review: INTENSE – Songs Of A Broken Future

INTENSE – Songs Of A Broken Future

Pure Steel Records [Release date 27.03.20]

It has been nearly nine years since we last saw an album from Intense, during which time they have signed with Pure Steel Records. The album was recorded, produced and mixed by Threshold guitarist Karl Groom at his Thin Ice Studios. Intense’s line–up features original members’ vocalist Sean Hetherington and guitarist Nick Palmer, along with guitarist Dave Peak, bassist Stephen Brine and drummer Neil Ablard.

Boy is this an album for the times…after a suitably grandiose intro piece we are off at full metal pelt on ‘End Of Days’ and ‘Head Above Water’. Sean Hetherington packs a powerful vocal punch, whilst the twin guitar assault is reminiscent of Iron Maiden.

Keyboards are used sparingly to add a little texture to the sound, helping along the intro to ‘I Agonise’. A classic piece of power metal Intense style. There is even a piano intro on the title track, possibly one of the most progressive songs Intense have attempted to date, along with the heaviest in terms of the riffing and rhythm section power.

‘The Social Elite’ has the potential to be a single, another fast paced power metal anthem. The vocals and arrangements on the chorus are again very impressive.

‘Until The Memories Fade’ is a proper metal ballad, complete with slow parts, soaring guitar solo and clever use of harmonies on the chorus.

Intense have been beavering away on this album for some time and it has been worth wait. Whilst we live in these uncertain times Intense have just delivered the metal soundtrack to them. ****

Review by Jason Ritchie

Josh Taerk promo

Check out Canadian singer songwriter Josh Taerk and his exclusive live session via Get Ready to ROCK!’s Facebook page

In his show on Get Ready to ROCK! Radio on Sunday 29 March David Randall featured a selection of tracks from “Albums of the Month” (January-March 2020) (29:45)

Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

Featured Albums w/c 30 March (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 HARTMANN 15 Pearls And Gems (AOR Heaven)
12:00-13:00 H.E.A.T. II (earMUSIC)
14:00-16:00 GRAHAM GOULDMAN Modesty Forbids (Lojinx)

Power Plays w/c 30 March (Mon-Fri)

LOUISE LEMON Devil (Icons Creating Evil Art )
BLACK ORCHID EMPIRE Winter Keeps Us Warm (indie)
ONE DESIRE Shadowman (Frontiers)
CRYSTAL IGNITE Black Mamba (indie)
PICTURESQUE ATTN: (Rude Records/Equal Vision Records)
SKARLETT RIOT Human (indie)

Email This Page
This entry was posted in ALBUM REVIEWS, ALBUM REVIEWS (Mobile), All Posts, PURE METAL (All posts), Pure Metal/Album reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply