Album review: SNAKE OIL & HARMONY – Hurricane Riders

SNAKE OIL & HARMONY - Hurricane Riders

Zero One Entertainment [Release date 28.02.20]

Five years ago, Danny Vaughn (Tyketto) and Dan Reed (Dan Reed Network) decided to combine their talents in to form a live acoustic touring act called Snake Oil & Harmony. Since then they have completed two tours, where they shared their songs and the stories behind them with the audience and following on from the success of this they recorded this, their debut album. They are joined by Bengt Jonasson on bass and drummer Robert Mehmet Sinan Ikiz.

Overall it has the sound and feel of a Danny Vaughn solo album, songs that draw the listen in and create images in your head based on the lyrics and music. A prime example is ‘Dance In The Heart Of The Sun’, where you can almost feel the sun and see the blue skies described so vividly in the song.

A song like ‘Little Hercules’, where both share lead vocals, is a beautiful tune and the vocal harmonies they create together recall the glory days of Crosby, Stills & Nash. ‘The Lines Are Open’ treads a similar musical path, again the two vocals weave effortlessly throughout the song.

‘Aberfan’ is a touching song about the 1966 mining disaster, the fiddle adding a folk lilt to the song. Elsewhere we have a bit of country/Americana – much loved by Danny Vaughn on his solo outings – on ‘Canonball’.

‘Save The Day’ is the closet to a melodic rocker, where Dan Reed takes lead vocals and certainly a topical song about the current state of the US. With its instant chorus the song is a perfect fit for daytime radio.

Really hope they decide to do another album together as they work so well together. An album to put on, kick back and enjoy as the wonderful music washes over you. ****1/2

Review by Jason Ritchie

Josh Taerk promo

Check out Canadian singer songwriter Josh Taerk and his exclusive live session via Get Ready to ROCK!’s Facebook page

In his show on Get Ready to ROCK! Radio on Sunday 29 March David Randall featured a selection of tracks from “Albums of the Month” (January-March 2020) (29:45)

Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

Featured Albums w/c 30 March (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 HARTMANN 15 Pearls And Gems (AOR Heaven)
12:00-13:00 H.E.A.T. II (earMUSIC)
14:00-16:00 GRAHAM GOULDMAN Modesty Forbids (Lojinx)

Power Plays w/c 30 March (Mon-Fri)

LOUISE LEMON Devil (Icons Creating Evil Art )
BLACK ORCHID EMPIRE Winter Keeps Us Warm (indie)
ONE DESIRE Shadowman (Frontiers)
CRYSTAL IGNITE Black Mamba (indie)
PICTURESQUE ATTN: (Rude Records/Equal Vision Records)
SKARLETT RIOT Human (indie)

Email This Page
This entry was posted in ALBUM REVIEWS, ALBUM REVIEWS (Mobile), All Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply