Feature: Albums that time forgot – DISTANCE – Under The One Sky

DISTANCE - Under The One Sky

Reprise Records [1989]

The Distance were a natural successor to the Power Station who featured legendary producer Bernard Edwards and Tony Thompson, both of who were members of Chic. Taking the place on vocals of Robert Palmer was Robert Hart, with Meat Loaf guitarist Eddie Martinez and keyboards player Jeff Bova completing the line-up.

‘Leave It Up To You’ really does sound like a Robert Palmer/Power Station number, driven along by the funky rhythm section and guitar riff. Given the chance and exposure back at the time of the album’s release this could have been a big hit.

Elsewhere, there is some great funk rock numbers such as ‘Give It Up’, neat AOR (with a touch of Go West) on ‘Speech Of Angels’ and a Bad Company vibe on the title track. Speaking of Go West, half of that due Richard Drunnie, has a co-write on ‘Everytime I Stand Up’. However, it is the ballads that really make this album special. ‘As You Turn Away’ with Robert Hart’s impassioned vocal and Eddie Martinez’s stunning guitar solo – superb stuff! The title track again highlights Hart’s emotive vocals with a sexy funk vibe rumbling under the music.

Damn shame another album never materialized and you can get this CD quite cheaply on Amazon and eBay. Despite the ‘supergroup’ status the album failed to chart on either side of the Atlantic.

Where are they now?

Vocalist Robert Hart joined Bad Company for a couple of albums in the mid/late 90’s, released a couple of solo albums and returned earlier this year with the excellent ‘Pure’ album. More recently he has joined the Jones Gang featuring ex-Faces drummer Kenny Jones.

Sadly Tony Thomson (who drummed for Led Zeppelin at Live Aid) and Bernard Edwards are no longer with us. Eddie Martinez has released some jazz influenced solo albums, along with more session work and Jeff Bova has appeared on albums by Tina Arena, Billy Joel, Dave Lee Roth, Iron Maiden and Celine Dion!

Review by Jason Ritchie

In his show broadcast on Get Ready to ROCK! Radio on 10 May David Randall played a further selection of artists and albums included in the new Features series, “2020 Vision”.

Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

Featured Albums w/c 25 May (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 FM Synchronized (Frontiers)
12:00-13:00 THE ROCKET DOLLS The Art Of Disconnect (indie)
14:00-16:00 BEN KUNDER Searching For The Stranger (indie)

Power Plays w/c 11 May (Mon-Fri)

THE MERCY KILLS Alone (Golden Robot Records)
DEAD REYNOLDS By Your Side (indie)
THE JAILBIRDS Watery Grave (Golden Robot Records)
ALI MASS & MICKY MOODY These Times (Last Man Music)
MASSIVE WAGONS Bangin In Your Stereo (Earache)
UDO We Are One (AFM Records)

Email This Page
This entry was posted in Albums that time forgot, All Posts, FEATURES and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply