Album review: THE ROCKET DOLLS – The Art of Disconnect

THE ROCKET DOLLS - The Art of Disconnect

Website [Release date 01.05.20]

The Rocket Dolls are Nikki Smash (vocals, guitars), Joe Constable (bass, backing vocals) and Benji Knopfler (drums), back with their new album which was another affected by the PledgeMusic crisis. Undeterred, the Rocket Dolls re-launched the fund-raising campaign from their own merch store, smashing the target thanks to their loyal fans.

Listening to this album their fans know a good thing when they hear one – listen to the single ‘The Grip’, a rollicking piece of pop rock that gained airplay on Planet Rock and BBC Radio 2. Loving the drums and guitar trade off on this one.

Nikki Smash has a vocal perfect for the rocket fuelled riffs on here, be it on ‘The Clear Light of Self Hatred’ or the modern punk rock of ‘Enthusiasm and Fumes’.

However, there is much more to the Rocket Dolls than this, as the go for a big production ballad on ‘Grin and Bare It’. A real chance for the band to stretch their musical ideas. Mind you ‘Habit Machine’ they up their game either further, adding in strings to create an all immersive sound – a veritable tour de force from the band.

The title track is an intriguing mix of synths and a big guitar sound, along with an impassioned vocal. This is the band’s key strength in that they have the mosh pit tunes, but also songs like this for a different side of the fan base.

The Rocket Dolls flip from grunge to punk pop, Foo Fighters/Feeder like in your face anthems to moments of mellow and more. This is an impressive album, one to enjoy both on a musical and lyrical level. ****

Review by Jason Ritchie

David Randall presents a weekly show on Get Ready to ROCK! Radio, Sundays at 22:00 BST (GMT+1, repeated on Mondays and Fridays), when he invites listeners to ‘Assume The Position’. This show was first broadcast on 20 September 2020.

UK Blues Broadcaster of the Year (2020) Pete Feenstra presents his weekly Rock & Blues Show on Tuesday at 19:00 ( BST, GMT+1) as part of a five hour blues rock marathon “Tuesday is Bluesday at GRTR!”. The show is repeated on Wednesdays at 22:00, Fridays at 20:00). This show was first broadcast 22 September 2020.

Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

Featured Albums w/c 12 October (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 BROTHER FIRETRIBE Feel The Burn (Nuclear Blast)
12:00-13:00 BLUE OYSTER CULT The Symbol Remains (Frontiers)
14:00-16:00 SHEMEKIA COPELAND Uncivil War (Alligator)

Power Plays w/c 12 October (Mon-Fri)

HELLZ We Want Rock (indie)
WHEN RIVERS MEET Battleground (indie)
UNCUT Family Blues (indie)
MIKE ROSS Don’t Say A Word (Taller Records)
CORY MARKS Blame It On The Double (indie)
MASON HILL Against The Wall (indie)
CATS IN SPACE Revolution (Harmony Factory)

Email This Page
This entry was posted in ALBUM REVIEWS, ALBUM REVIEWS (Mobile), All Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply