Album review: THESE WICKED RIVERS – Eden


Rock People Records [Release date 22.05.20]

These Wicked Rivers have released a couple of EPs to date and now are set to unleash their full debut album upon the musical world. These Wicked Rivers consist of John Hartwell (vocals, guitar), Arran Day (guitar, vocals), Sam Williams (bass) and Dan Southall (drums, vocals).

Starting off with the slightly odd ‘Tea Leaves’ (a song about reading tea leaves), the second song in, ‘Shine On’, gives you some idea of the band’s DNA – big riffs, hard rocking with a southern rock flair and some damn fine melodies. They also have a powerhouse vocalist in John Hartwell, he is the icing on the musical cake.

‘Floyd’ has already been released as a single and highlights how the band think outside the box on lyrics, being about a homeless man who witnesses various dodgy goings on and then disappears one day. Was he murdered? Did he disappear? Only the band know the answer to that one!

‘This Train’ takes it down a notch, one where you can pick and out hear each instrument. Production and sound wise this album is spot on. Bit like the Cult meets Black Stone Cherry on this song. On ‘Won’t Be Broken’ it is like Black Sabbath meets Soundgarden – those guitar riffs are big, slow and ponderous.

They have certainly put a lot into this release as there are various pre-order bundles you can have that include t-shirts, hoodies and a beanie.

Despite the current global pandemic and albums being pushed back, there is still great new music being released and These Wicked Rivers ‘Eden’ is one of them. Impressive and lets hope they can get out on the road with these tunes sooner rather than later. ****

Review by Jason Ritchie

Josh Taerk’s latest Lockdown session was streamed on Sunday 25 October. More about Josh:

David Randall presents a weekly show on Get Ready to ROCK! Radio, Sundays at 22:00 BST (GMT+1, repeated on Mondays and Fridays), when he invites listeners to ‘Assume The Position’. This show was first broadcast on 27 September 2020.

UK Blues Broadcaster of the Year (2020) Pete Feenstra presents his weekly Rock & Blues Show on Tuesday at 19:00 ( BST, GMT+1) as part of a five hour blues rock marathon “Tuesday is Bluesday at GRTR!”. The show is repeated on Wednesdays at 22:00, Fridays at 20:00). This show was first broadcast 29 September 2020.

Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

Featured Albums w/c 26 October (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 HEARTWIND Strangers (Escape Music)
12:00-13:00 FATES WARNING Long Day, Good (Metal Blade)
14:00-16:00 PADRAIG JACK Making Sand (indie)

Power Plays w/c 26 October (Mon-Fri)

LYKANTROPI Axis Of Margaret (Despotz Records)
LIONS SHARE Aim Higher (indie)
ALL RUNS RED What Good Would That Do (indie)
TRIDENT WATERS Six Feet Under (indie)
HOLDING ABSENCE Beyond Belief (indie)
DORIS BRENDEL Other Side Of The World (Sky Rocket Records)

Email This Page
This entry was posted in ALBUM REVIEWS, ALBUM REVIEWS (Mobile), All Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply