CHROME MOLLY – Gunpowder Diplomacy



Ear Music (Release date – 25.02.13)

Gunpowder Diplomacy is the first album release by Chrome Molly in 22 years and has been made to celebrate the fact that it is 30 years since the band’s first album ‘You Can’t Have It All’. The 2013 incarnation of the band still retains three original members, Steve Hawkins on vocals, John Antcliffe on guitar and Nic Wastell on bass. The line-up is completed by ‘new boy’ Greg Ellis on drums who joined the band in 1990.

22 years is a long time in rock , so have the band managed to move with the times ? What the band have achieved is to produce a polished, hard rocking album that is most definitely rooted in the here and now rather than in the 80’s. That’s not to say though that the band have forgotten their NWOBHM roots, they have just moved with the times and given their brand of melodic rock a modern twist. This has been helped in no short part by the excellent production on the album which was handled by Toby Jepson of Little Angels fame. Toby has brought the band’s sound right up to date and made the disc relevant rather than a relic.

As always with a band of this vintage,Chrome Molly display excellent musicianship and song writing skills throughout. From the full on rocking opener ‘Corporation Fear’,  the catchy ‘Stop Love’ and ‘Supercharged’, to the epic album closer ‘The Runner’ the band put in a great performance. In the early days the band were likened to Def Leppard, but I would put them closer to the current Saxon line up on this album which is no bad thing in my book.

Chrome Molly are back with a bang. It may have been 22 years since they last hit the recording studio but they have come up with a great rock album with a modern feel. I don’t think the band should be plotting world domination just yet but with this record another few years in the spotlight should be ensured.


David Wilson

Josh Taerk’s latest Sunday Session was streamed on Sunday 17 July.

Check out previous videos here:

David Randall presents a weekly show on Get Ready to ROCK! Radio, Sundays at 22:00 GMT, repeated on Mondays and Fridays), when he invites listeners to ‘Assume The Position’. This show was first broadcast on 24 July 2022.

UK Blues Broadcaster of the Year (2020 and 2021 Finalist) Pete Feenstra presents his weekly Rock & Blues Show on Tuesday at 19:00 GMT as part of a five hour blues rock marathon “Tuesday is Bluesday at GRTR!”. The show is repeated on Wednesdays at 22:00, Fridays at 20:00). This show was first broadcast 26 July 2022.

How to Listen Live?

Click the programming image at the top of the page (top right of page if using desktop)

Listen via Windows Media Player. Click or tap here and “open file”
Listen via other media player (eg. VLC) Click or tap here and “open file”

Get Ready to ROCK! Radio is also in iTunes under Internet Radio/Classic Rock
Listen in via the Tunein app and search for “Get Ready to ROCK!” and save as favourite.

More information and links at our radio website where you can listen again to shows via the presenter pages:

Power Plays w/c 8 August 2022 (Mon-Fri)
BORN LOST Take Time (Mouthpiece) (Revolver Records)
JAIME KYLE Driving With The Brakes On (Conquest Music)
SCARLET DORN Born To Suffer (SPV Recordings)
HOLDING ABSENCE Coffin (Sharptone Records)
TYRANNOSAURUS NEBULOUS Get Some (Echoed Past Records)
KROOKED TONGUE When The Beaches Bleed (indie)
SKYPILOT Knifed On The Beach (The Distortion Project)

Featured Albums w/c 8 August (Mon-Fri)
09:00-12:00 LESSMAN VOSS Rock Is Our Religion (Atomic Fire Records)
12:00-13:00 H.E.A.T. Force Majeure (earMUSIC)
14:00-16:00 THE SLAMBOVIAN CIRCUS OF DREAMS A Very Unusual Head (indie)

Popular (last 30 days)

This entry was posted in ALBUM REVIEWS, ALBUM REVIEWS (Mobile), ALL POSTS and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply