DIRTY WHITE BOY ‘Bad Reputation’ Polydor (1990)


Sadly Dirty White Boy only ever did this one album but boy is it a corker! Formed around ex-Guffria vocalist David Glenn Eisley and former David Bowie guitarist Earl Slick they rocked big time with plenty of slide guitar courtesy of Earl Slick. Eisley’s vocals are suitably gruff for this lean and dirty rock ‘n’ roll – ‘Lazy Crazy’ being a prime example. ‘Let’s Spend Momma’s Money’ is a real rock ‘n’ roll stomper with a nice honky-tonk piano riff going on in the background. Then its ‘lighters in the air’ time for ‘You Give Me Love’ – just how a ballad should be done, soaring heartfelt vocals, guitar solo midway through and a nice heart tugging lyric. Only ‘Soul Of A loaded Gun’ and ‘Hard Times’ sound average compared to the other great songs on here. They came out just as hair/glam metal was peaking and bands like Guns ‘N’ Roses were the big thing in rock music, the perfect market for this album. For me Dirty White Boy should have been bigger than they were and a real shame they didn’t second a second album.

Where are they now?

Eisley popped up with a solo album in the mid-90′s that had some early versions of songs that made the House Of Lords debut album plus Stream, a very heavy album and not what fans of his previous work may have expected! He is currently working on a new solo album but not set release date as yet. Earl Slick joined Little Caesar for one album and continues to release solo albums, the last one being in 2003 and drummer Keni Richards has appeared on a few of these.





Track List:

01. Bad Reputation

02. Lazy Crazy

03. Let’s Spend Momma’s Money

04. You Give Me Love

05. Dead Cat Alley

06. Hammer On The Heart

07. Hard Times

08. Soul Of A Loaded Gun

09. One Good Reason

10. Badlands


David Glen Eisley (GIUFFRIA) – vocals, keyboards and harmonica

Earl Slick (DAVID BOWIE) – guitar and vocals

F. Kirk Alley – bass and vocals

Keni Richards (AUTOGRAPH) – drums, percussion and vocals

On 16 December, David Randall presented a two hour special on Get Ready to ROCK! Radio reflecting the reviewer and popular choices for “Best of 2018″

More information
Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

Power Plays w/c 7 January 2019

We feature a selection of breakthrough artists in 2018 as selected by GRTR! reviewers, readers and listeners

Featured Albums w/c 7 January (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 CARE OF NIGHT Love Equals War (AOR Heaven)
12:00-13:00 COME TASTE THE BAND Reignition (AOR Heaven)
14:00-16:00 MICHAEL ARMSTRONG #LookingForTheWorld (indie)

Albums That Time Forgot (Mon-Fri)

ELEKTRADRIVE Living 4 (2008)

Email This Page
This entry was posted in All Posts, Buried Treasures. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply