Album review: TYLA J PALLAS – Devil’s Supper (Electric Sitting)

Tyla J Pallas - Devil's Supper

King Outlaw

Long before the “Pledge” method of making and releasing a non-major label album, Dogs D’Amour front man Tyla J Pallas had perfected his own cottage industry style of label- sleeve designing, producing and releasing endless amounts of decent solo albums without any interference from money obsessed record labels and you have to hand it to the man- his recorded output is nothing short of prolific.

Latest studio offering “Devil’s Supper (Electric Sitting)” effortlessly blends soul, blues, rock n roll and slight voodoo with his sharp lyrical talent and is nothing short of magnificent. On opening track “Love Is” there are some horns that are either Beatle like or Motownesque and I just cannot put my finger on it- great track though.

Tracks such as “Old Sins Cast Long Shadows “ and “That Someone” are typical Tyla fare, “Another Life” reminds me of “Hurt” era Johnny Cash, “Judas Christ” is sparse yet massive sounding whilst “It Ain’t Over Yet” is both bluesy and Johnny Thunders like in parts.

The early rock n roll of “Yeah (I Love you Baby)” and “Religion” sit nicely alongside the early ‘60’s RnB/Soul feel of single “Green Eyed Girl”. “The Meaning of Fortune” is a real hidden treasure, it reminds me of The Stones “Gimme Shelter” and I can’t help keep coming back to it, the acoustic version of “Judas Christ” is also very Keith Richards’ like vocally whilst “Wisdom” is pure Keef meets Cash.

The track which really sticks out, for me, is “All Alone Without Me And You” – judge it for yourself, it’s a classic. We are also treated to the almost hymnal “Ode to Jackie Leven”.

With “Devil’s Supper” Tyla isn’t breaking any moulds, but then again, why would he? His large and loyal fan base will absolutely love this album.

Review by Nikk Gunns

The latest Facebook Live session from Canadian singer-songwriter Josh Taerk (Sunday 27 June )

Check out full video

More about Josh

David Randall presents a weekly show on Get Ready to ROCK! Radio, Sundays at 22:00 BST (GMT+1, repeated on Mondays and Fridays), when he invites listeners to ‘Assume The Position’. This show was first broadcast on 11 July 2021 and includes the Top 10 albums at for that week.

UK Blues Broadcaster of the Year (2020 and 2021 Finalist) Pete Feenstra presents his weekly Rock & Blues Show on Tuesday at 19:00 ( BST, GMT+1) as part of a five hour blues rock marathon “Tuesday is Bluesday at GRTR!”. The show is repeated on Wednesdays at 22:00, Fridays at 20:00). This show was first broadcast 13 July 2021.

Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.
You can Listen Again to shows via the presenter pages at

Featured Albums w/c 26 July 2021 (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 NITRATE Renegade (AOR Heaven)
12:00-13:00 LEE AARON Radio On! (Metalville)
14:00-16:00 THE IMMEDIATE FAMILY (indie)

Power Plays w/c 26 July 2021 (Mon-Fri)

GRAVITY MACHINE It’s Summer (Zyse Records)
ANARIA Journeys Do Not End (indie)
SNAKE BITE WHISKY Choke (Sliptrick Records)
KI-JUNG Crystal Light (indie)
CONTROLLER Skyline (Curtain Call Records)
TITO JACKSON Under Your Spell (Gulf Coast/Hillside)

Popular (last 30 days)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
This entry was posted in ALBUM REVIEWS, ALBUM REVIEWS (Mobile), All Posts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply