Album review: BITERS – Electric Blood

BITERS - Electric Blood

Earache Records [Release date 07.08.15]

Biters are a four piece band hailing from Atlanta, USA and this debut album certainly tips it’s hat to 70′s rock with a little punk attitude thrown in for good measure. Unusual to be on Earache Records, a label more known for its extreme metal roster, although they back good music and should have a winner with Biters.

The two opening songs, ‘Restless Hearts’ (one of the songs of the year for sure can’t stop playing this one) and ’1975′ (with a classic 70′s glam rock drum beat), have more hooks and melodies in them than many bands in a similar vein strive to achieve yet fail. Yes they would have been a bigger success back in the mid-80′s as they have a whiff of Guns ‘N’ Roses about them in parts, along with AC/DC (the title track) and Thin Lizzy.

They have a ballad of sorts on ‘The Kids Ain’t Alright’, complete with a bit of social commentary, whilst ‘Low Lives In Hi-Definition’ mixes an AC/DC riff with a Thin Lizzy guitar sound on the solo and name checks Kiss in the lyrics! ‘Space Age Wasteland’ sounds like a filler after the treats beforehand sadly.

Starts well, packing the musical punches early on in the album before tailing off slightly. Worthy of a listen, as they show promise and certainly know how to pen a catchy tune. Keep an eye on the Biters that’s for sure. ***1/2

Review by Jason Ritchie

Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

Pete Feenstra celebrated his 300th show in October 2019. Pete heads up a five-hour blues rock marathon when “Tuesday is Bluesday” from 19:00 GMT. Listen out also for his interview-based Feature show on Sundays (20:00 GMT)

Power Plays w/c 25 November (Mon-Fri)

Throughout December we are featuring Best of 2019 selections from the GRTR! Reviewers.

Featured Albums w/c 25 November (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 Melodic Rock Featured Albums of 2019
12:00-13:00 Melodic Hard Rock Featured Albums of 2019
14:00-16:00 Singer Songwriter Featured Albums of 2019

Albums That Time Forgot (Mon-Fri)

A selection of albums featured in 2019

Email This Page
This entry was posted in ALBUM REVIEWS, ALBUM REVIEWS (Mobile), All Posts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply