Album review: GAMA BOMB – Untouchable Glory

GAMA BOMB – Untouchable Glory

AFM Records [Release date 30.10.15]

“Untouchable Glory” is the fifth album from Northern Ireland’s answer to vintage Anthrax, namely Gama Bomb.

The band formed back in 2002 in Newry and bonded over a love of obscure thrash bands and zombies. Vocalist Philly Bryne and bassist Joe McGuigan have been there since the very beginning with long term members Domo Dixon and Paul Caffrey, on guitars and drums respectively, joining in 2005. New boy guitarist John Roche has been in the ranks since 2012.

From opener Ninja Untouchables/Untouchable Glory through to closer After The Fire there can only really be one comparison…and that is “Among The Living” era Anthrax. There are other bits of early Megadeth, Metallica et al randomly thrown into mix.

It’s all over in 32 minutes so nothing outstays its welcome. Drinkers, Inc. brings a smile with its “bless me father for I have gin” lyric. James Joint, obviously a play on Irish writer James Joyce, is short and sweet clocking in at under a minute. I Will Haunt You brings Ghostbusters to mind with its “ectoplasm running down the walls”.

The cover artwork brings Terrorvision’s “Regular Urban Survivors” to mind with its action poses and garish colours.

“Untouchable Glory” is definitely old skool thrash but the guys definitely had a blast recording this!

All very enjoyable but all the songs do sort of blend into one long mosh!  ***

Review by Phil Berisford

Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

In this two hour special David Randall plays a selection of the GRTR! reviewer choices for ‘Best of 2019′ and announces the results of the popular poll. First broadcast Sunday 22 December 2019.

Featured Albums w/c 20 January (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 AUTUMN’S CHILD Autumn’s Child (AOR Heaven)
12:00-13:00 THE RAGGED SAINTS Sonic Playground Revisited (AOR Heaven)
14:00-16:00 AMBERLY CHALBERG Hi-Line (indie)

Power Plays w/c 20 January (Mon-Fri)

THUNDERSTICK Go Sleep With The Enemy (Roulette Records)
BUFFALO SUMMER Everybody’s Out For No.1 (Silver Lining Music)
ANCHOR LANE Dead Run (R7 Records)
MOLLY KARLOFF She Said (indie)
H.E.A.T. Come Clean (Frontiers)
THE KENDALL COLLECTION Staring Back At Me (indie)
VOODOO RAMBLE Midnight Train (indie)

Email This Page
This entry was posted in ALBUM REVIEWS, ALBUM REVIEWS (Mobile), All Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply