Album review: LEFT WITH PICTURES – Afterlife


Organ Grinder Records [Release date 29.04.16]

Left With Pictures describe their music as  an orchestral pop ensemble. They have been around since 2005 and consist of Tom Walker, Toby Knowles and Stuart Barter. They have released a series of EP’s and two albums prior to this one, the last album being 2011′s ‘In Time’.

The album, as the title suggests, deals with life, death and renewal, all done with a truly magical musical backing.

If you listen to nothing else by Left Without Pictures (and shame on you if you don’t!), try ‘Terra Firma’. The listener is swept along by a classical backing and some other worldly synths (which also pop up on album closer ‘The Night Watch’ to good effect). If that wasn’t enough, the vocals and choral arrangement towards the song’s climax are amazing.

‘The Start’ is the only time the music picks up the pace, the piano/bass motif reminded me of Ben Folds. The band members classical training shines through on the use of strings and the grandiose, yet never too overbearing musical arrangements. ‘Last Man On Earth’, and indeed some of more somber moments, are reminiscent at times of Dead Can Dance and Porcupine Tree.

Throw away your genre labels and this album by can be enjoyed by all, a perfect end of the day listen with the headphones on to ensure you miss none of the little musical treats contained within this album. Wonderful music. ****

Review by Jason Ritchie

David Randall plays a selection of new and classic rock in his weekly show first broadcast 14 June 2020 including reference to the Feature series “2020 Vision”.

Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

Featured Albums w/c 6 July (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 MANDOKI SOULMATES Living In The Gap (Red Rock Production/Cleopatra)
12:00-13:00 MAGNUS KARLSSON’S FREE FALL – We Are The Night (Frontiers)
14:00-16:00 BEN REEL The Nashville Calling (B.Reel Records)

Power Plays w/c 6 July (Mon-Fri)

ZENITH MOON Gypsy (Golden Robot Records)
RARITY Leave It Alone (New Damage Records)
THE RISING I Want You (indie)
MANDOKI SOULMATES Young Rebels (Red Rock Production/Cleopatra)
LA GUNS Well Oiled Machine (Golden Robot Records)

Email This Page
This entry was posted in ALBUM REVIEWS, ALBUM REVIEWS (Mobile), All Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply