Album review: JORN – Heavy Rock Radio

Frontiers [Release date 03.06.16]

Jorn is back with…another covers album. In the past few years he has been doing various re-recordings of his older work or covers, plus last years rather good ‘Dracula – The Swing Of Death’ with former Wig Wam guitarist Trond Holter. Holter is back on this album, which is a mix of some melodic rock classics and hard rock gems, plus a couple of surprise song choices.

His version of Kate Bush’s ‘Running Up That Hill’ sounds very heavy with a male vocal, especially his. As an aside, the video for this and other songs on the album are not the best, as Jorn seems to be gurning in a lot of them or appears to be in pain.

The version of Journey’s Don’t Stop Believin’ I have yet to gel with, something in the lack of keys on this one I think. Jorn does Freddie on ‘Killer Queen’ but to be fair it is more like Dio does Queen. Good version of John Farnham’s ‘You’re The Voice’, his vocal and the arrangement are one of the best on the album.

Jorn unleashes his rock holler on Dio’s ‘Rainbow In The Dark’ and Deep Purple’s ‘Stormbringer’, although personally rather than go for two bands we know influence him I’d have preferred a couple more melodic rock based songs.

Good fun and his fans will enjoy this as a stop gap until next year’s new studio album, which is boding well given that Holter and Alessandro Del Vecchio are both involved. ***1/2

Review by Jason Ritchie

Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

In this two hour special David Randall plays a selection of the GRTR! reviewer choices for ‘Best of 2019′ and announces the results of the popular poll. First broadcast Sunday 22 December 2019.

Featured Albums w/c 20 January (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 AUTUMN’S CHILD Autumn’s Child (AOR Heaven)
12:00-13:00 THE RAGGED SAINTS Sonic Playground Revisited (AOR Heaven)
14:00-16:00 AMBERLY CHALBERG Hi-Line (indie)

Power Plays w/c 20 January (Mon-Fri)

THUNDERSTICK Go Sleep With The Enemy (Roulette Records)
BUFFALO SUMMER Everybody’s Out For No.1 (Silver Lining Music)
ANCHOR LANE Dead Run (R7 Records)
MOLLY KARLOFF She Said (indie)
H.E.A.T. Come Clean (Frontiers)
THE KENDALL COLLECTION Staring Back At Me (indie)
VOODOO RAMBLE Midnight Train (indie)

Email This Page
This entry was posted in ALBUM REVIEWS, ALBUM REVIEWS (Mobile), All Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply