GASOLINE STARS – Good Looks, Bad Behaviour

GASOLINE STARS – Good Looks, Bad Behaviour Self Release

Good Looks, Bad Behaviour is the debut full length album from Gasoline Stars who formed in 2012 in Sweden. Gasoline Stars are a fivesome although they have split with the drummer used in this release, the remaining members are intending to tour with a new drummer this September.

Good Looks, Bad Behaviour is an eleven track album and each track is bouncy, melodic and rocking in the good old manner of the 80’s, slightly sleazy glam metal, they even have the hair. The band have opened for Crucified Barbara and even reached the semi-finals of the Emergenza festival.

Although there is nothing ground-breaking here it is a very good listen. ‘Weekend’ has an almost punk edge to it, as does the opener and title track, ‘Good Looks, Bad Behaviour’, and it is followed by the necessary rock ballad ‘All I Want Is You’. The vocals of Daniel Almquist suit the music well, especially in the title track.

Overall, not a vital buy but if you are tempted you will not be disappointed.  ***1/2

Review by CJ

DUST BOWL JOKIES – Cockaigne Vaudeville

DUST BOWL JOKIES – Cockaigne Vaudeville
Bad Reputation [Release date 14.09.14]

Another Swedish band, Dust Bowl Jokies are a fivesome  and Cockaigne Vaudeville was their debut album in 2012 followed by a two track release which has been incorporated in this reissue.

Dust Bowl Jokies play hard rock/rock and roll with a glam metal edge, their sound is a bit of a mix of Crue and GNR, bouncy, catchy and fun. The band have done things the right way, lots of live gigs followed by a record deal not as so many bands do these days, expecting to make the big time after a month or two playing together.

Tracks of note for me were ‘Whore of Babylon’, catchy hooks and a sleazy sound, ‘Living in the Cellar’ which appealed because of the title and it has a fun chorus and great guitar playing. The bonus tracks, ‘The Wicked’ and ‘Blood, Sweat and Perfume’ are powerful, catchy and well written, ‘The Wicked’ has a country feel to it and should be good live.

Dust Bowl Jokies are one to look out for, hopefully at a festival where their glam metal should go down well.  ***1/2

Review by CJ

IN-FLIGHT SAFETY – Conversationalist

www.inflightsafety.ca Conehead [Released 22.09.14]

Third album by this Canadian band who have seen their songs used on US TV shows and played the various high profile music showcases like SXSW.

Highly polished music that’s for sure, recalling the Big Country guitar sound on ‘Animals’, then a whiff of U2’s epic stadium rock on ‘Stockholm’ and Coldplay on ‘Firestarters’, the vocals of John Mullane do sound uncannily like Chris Martin on this one.

Not a bad listen and the strongest songs are packed in the first half of the album as the attention starts to wane come the later songs, although ‘Firestarters’ is a good rousing tune to end the album on. Perhaps there are too many musical influences shining through on the album meaning the band lacks their own musical identity. ***

Review by Jason Ritchie

www.thomaszwijsen.com [Release date 11.03.14]

Dutch classical guitarist Thomas Zwijsen has already released an album of Iron Maiden covers and now he returns with more classic rock/metal covers performed on classical guitar along with a few original compositions and some guests, including Kee Marcello and Derek Sherinian.

He does another Maiden classic on this album, namely ‘Flash Of The Blade’ although it’s the Who’s ‘Behind Blue Eyes’ and Alice Cooper’s ‘Poison’ that are the showstoppers for me. The latter sounds so different, although you can imagine Alice singing along to the acoustic playing!

Despite having the impressive trio of vocalists -Threshold’s  Damian Wilson, Blaze Bayley and Pink Cream69′s David Readman – singing on ‘Perfect Storm’, the song doesn’t really impress I am afraid. It’s a decent stab at a prog metal tune but just lacks that certain spark to make it memorable.

Remarkable playing throughout and do listen to his versions of ‘Behind Blue Eyes’ and ‘Poison’, amazing music. ***

Review by Jason Ritchie

Dr John – Ske-Dat-De-Dat…Spirit of Satch
Proper Records [Released 22.09.14]

With “Ske-Dat-De-Dat…Spirit of Satch” one New Orleans musical legend is paying tribute to another, Dr John has taken 13 songs by Louis Armstrong and with his own jazz, blues and New Orleans touches has made them his own.

The album has numerous guest appearances from the likes of Bonnie Raitt, The Blind Boys of Alabama and trumpeters such as Terence Blanchard and horn ensemble The Dirty Dozen Brass Band. With songs including “Wonderful World”, “When You’re Smiling” and “World On A String” given a new lease of life there is even a modern rap element to “Mack The Knife”.

Whilst it may not be to everybody’s taste, “Ske-Dat-De-Dat…Spirit of Satch” is a great collection of songs and highlights include “Gutbucket Blues”, “Motherless Child”, “Dippermouth Blues” and “Sweet Hunk O’ Trash”. To find Dr John still sounding so enthused by music some 7 decades into his career is something to behold.  ****

Review by Nikk Gunns

Josh Taerk’s latest Sunday Session was streamed on Sunday 22 May.

Next session: Sunday 26 June.

Check out previous videos here: https://www.facebook.com/getreadytorockradio

David Randall presents a weekly show on Get Ready to ROCK! Radio, Sundays at 22:00 GMT, repeated on Mondays and Fridays), when he invites listeners to ‘Assume The Position’. This show was first broadcast on 12 June 2022.

UK Blues Broadcaster of the Year (2020 and 2021 Finalist) Pete Feenstra presents his weekly Rock & Blues Show on Tuesday at 19:00 GMT as part of a five hour blues rock marathon “Tuesday is Bluesday at GRTR!”. The show is repeated on Wednesdays at 22:00, Fridays at 20:00). This show was first broadcast 14 June 2022.

How to Listen Live?

Click the programming image at the top of the page (top right of page if using desktop)

Listen via Windows Media Player. Click or tap here and “open file”
Listen via other media player (eg. VLC) Click or tap here and “open file”

Get Ready to ROCK! Radio is also in iTunes under Internet Radio/Classic Rock
Listen in via the Tunein app and search for “Get Ready to ROCK!” and save as favourite.

More information and links at our radio website where you can listen again to shows via the presenter pages: getreadytorockradio.com

Power Plays w/c 13 June 2022 (Mon-Fri)
IVORY SKIES – Bring Me Up (indie)
HONG FAUX Feign Death To Stay Alive (Golden Robot Records)
OVERLAPS Mind Over Matter (indie)
SOLE SYNDICATE – Brave Enough (Scarlet Records)
DAVID PAICH Spirit Of The Moonrise (Mascot)
JAILBIRDS The River (indie)

Featured Albums w/c 13 June (Mon-Fri)
09:00-12:00 DEF LEPPARD Diamond Star Halos (BMG)
12:00-13:00 LONERIDER Sundown (Escape Music)
14:00-16:00 VANDERWOLF 12 Little Killers (Vandermax Music)

Popular (last 30 days)

This entry was posted in ALBUM REVIEWS, ALBUM REVIEWS (Mobile), ALL POSTS, Quick Plays and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply