Album review: AIRRACE- Untold Stories

AIRRACE- Untold Stories

Frontiers [Release date 10.08.18]

A third Airrace album in their off-and-on 35 year existence looked unlikely when guitarist and band leader Laurie Mansworth put the band on ice a few years back to concentrate on managing The Treatment, and even less so when soon after a new line up came together, Keith Murrell departed.

His high-pitched vocals were a big part of their sound and with Laurie now the only original member I was unsure what direction and focus a new album would take. The overriding impression here is the album has a real feel of the late seventies and early eighties, giving it a warmth that many of today’s current melodic rock releases lack.

‘Running Out Of Time’ begins in promisingly grandiose fashion with a lengthy piano and guitar intro, and that promise is realised as Linda Kelsey Foster’s keyboards and Laurie’s guitar do battle, while new Welsh singer Adam Payne’s voice is a revelation, crystal clear and backed by harmonies in a manner which calls to mind Styx.

‘Innocent’ is more classic straight down the line AOR but with an added Lizzy-like double tracked guitar solo, while ‘Eyes Like Ice’ had already been a live favourite and is a grower with its haunting keyboard riff and an impressive bridge almost as catchy as the chorus itself.

‘Different But The Same’, a title which perhaps sums up the new Airrace direction, is an interesting number in several phases – initially based around a strong, simple riff that owes much to Zeppelin and Aerosmith, an unexpected keyboard break then leads into Laurie releasing his inner Blackmore, a vibe that persists into the next song ‘New Skin’.

The middle of the album rather dips in pace with the lush, soft balladry of ‘Lost’ and on ‘Love Is Love’ an otherwise rocking number that reminded me of early Foreigner was spoiled by a saccharine chorus.

‘Men  From The Boys’ has perhaps Airrace’s heaviest yet riff, leading into a golden trio of closing songs with ‘Summer Rain’ having a breezy, laid back seventies theme, with another strong bridge, and  not the only song drawing comparisons with current contemporaries Cats In Space.

‘Come With Us’ is a joyfully swaggering, up-tempo anthem and Laurie’s guitar powers closer ‘Here It Comes’ in almost power pop fashion, while throughout Adam has the versatility to match his voice to the diverse variety of styles on view..

Lovingly crafted, well played and with songs that hark back to the warmth of the analogue era yet still sound fresh, my initial scepticism was unfounded. This album was a revelation and one of the best melodic rock albums of the year.  **** 1/2

Review by Andy Nathan

The Best of 2018

Josh Taerk’s latest Sunday Session was streamed on Sunday 22 May.

Next session: Sunday 26 June.

Check out previous videos here:

David Randall presents a weekly show on Get Ready to ROCK! Radio, Sundays at 22:00 GMT, repeated on Mondays and Fridays), when he invites listeners to ‘Assume The Position’. This show was first broadcast on 12 June 2022.

UK Blues Broadcaster of the Year (2020 and 2021 Finalist) Pete Feenstra presents his weekly Rock & Blues Show on Tuesday at 19:00 GMT as part of a five hour blues rock marathon “Tuesday is Bluesday at GRTR!”. The show is repeated on Wednesdays at 22:00, Fridays at 20:00). This show was first broadcast 14 June 2022.

How to Listen Live?

Click the programming image at the top of the page (top right of page if using desktop)

Listen via Windows Media Player. Click or tap here and “open file”
Listen via other media player (eg. VLC) Click or tap here and “open file”

Get Ready to ROCK! Radio is also in iTunes under Internet Radio/Classic Rock
Listen in via the Tunein app and search for “Get Ready to ROCK!” and save as favourite.

More information and links at our radio website where you can listen again to shows via the presenter pages:

Power Plays w/c 13 June 2022 (Mon-Fri)
IVORY SKIES – Bring Me Up (indie)
HONG FAUX Feign Death To Stay Alive (Golden Robot Records)
OVERLAPS Mind Over Matter (indie)
SOLE SYNDICATE – Brave Enough (Scarlet Records)
DAVID PAICH Spirit Of The Moonrise (Mascot)
JAILBIRDS The River (indie)

Featured Albums w/c 13 June (Mon-Fri)
09:00-12:00 DEF LEPPARD Diamond Star Halos (BMG)
12:00-13:00 LONERIDER Sundown (Escape Music)
14:00-16:00 VANDERWOLF 12 Little Killers (Vandermax Music)

Popular (last 30 days)

This entry was posted in ALBUM REVIEWS, ALBUM REVIEWS (Mobile), ALL POSTS and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply