Album review: ELLEFSON – No Cover


Combat Records/earMUSIC [Release date 20.11.20]

Ellefson, the solo band of Megadeth bassist and co-founder David Ellefson, have a double album of covers for your enjoyment. Even the cover artwork is a homage to Def Leppard’s ‘On Through The Night’ album cover.

Ellefson, the band, featue David Ellefson on bass, vocalist Thom Hazaert,gGuitarists Andy Martongelli and Ron “Bumblefoot” Thal (Sons of Apollo, ex-Guns N’ Roses), and drummer Paolo Caridi. They are joined by a variety of guest musicians including Charlie Benante (Anthrax), Eddie Ojeda (Twisted Sister), Dirk Verbeuren (Megadeth), Frank Hannon and Troy Lucketta (Tesla), Mark Slaughter, Jason McMaster (Dangerous Toys), Chuck Behler (ex-Megadeth), Gus G, Doro Pesch, Todd Kerns (Slash & The Conspirators), Andrew Freeman (Last In Line), Al Jourgensen (Ministry), Russ Parrish (Fight, Steel Panther) and more.

Highlights depend on I guess which of the originals you really like. For this reviewer Queen’s ‘Sheer Heart Attack’ is given a very metal makeover and Doro’s vocals add to the song. Good to hear Jason McMaster’s vocals again as he nails AC/DC’s ‘Riff Raff’ and Priest’s ‘Freewheel Burning’, both are impressive versions.

Interesting that a few musicians appear on the originals they played on like Russ Parrish on Fight’s ‘Nailed To The Gun’ (you forget how good some of these songs are!) and Eddie Ojeda on ‘Tear It Loose’. Extra marks for avoiding the obvious covers by bands too.

Curveballs? Cheap Trick’s ‘Auf Wiedersehen’ featuring Ministry’s Al Jourgensen, certainly takes the song to new places and works well. The Sweet’s ‘Sweet FA’ with Todd Kearns on lead vocals sounds suitably metallic and glam at the same time. Some great guitar playing by Bumblefoot on that one too.

Crank it up loud and enjoy! Great fun from beginning to end and a good mix of metal, rock and punk classics. ****

Review by Jason Ritchie

Josh Taerk’s latest Sunday Session was streamed on Sunday 17 July.

Check out previous videos here:

David Randall presents a weekly show on Get Ready to ROCK! Radio, Sundays at 22:00 GMT, repeated on Mondays and Fridays), when he invites listeners to ‘Assume The Position’. This show was first broadcast on 31 July 2022.

UK Blues Broadcaster of the Year (2020 and 2021 Finalist) Pete Feenstra presents his weekly Rock & Blues Show on Tuesday at 19:00 GMT as part of a five hour blues rock marathon “Tuesday is Bluesday at GRTR!”. The show is repeated on Wednesdays at 22:00, Fridays at 20:00). This show was first broadcast 2 August 2022.

How to Listen Live?

Click the programming image at the top of the page (top right of page if using desktop)

Listen via Windows Media Player. Click or tap here and “open file”
Listen via other media player (eg. VLC) Click or tap here and “open file”

Get Ready to ROCK! Radio is also in iTunes under Internet Radio/Classic Rock
Listen in via the Tunein app and search for “Get Ready to ROCK!” and save as favourite.

More information and links at our radio website where you can listen again to shows via the presenter pages:

Power Plays w/c 8 August 2022 (Mon-Fri)
BORN LOST Take Time (Mouthpiece) (Revolver Records)
JAIME KYLE Driving With The Brakes On (Conquest Music)
SCARLET DORN Born To Suffer (SPV Recordings)
HOLDING ABSENCE Coffin (Sharptone Records)
TYRANNOSAURUS NEBULOUS Get Some (Echoed Past Records)
KROOKED TONGUE When The Beaches Bleed (indie)
SKYPILOT Knifed On The Beach (The Distortion Project)

Featured Albums w/c 8 August (Mon-Fri)
09:00-12:00 LESSMAN VOSS Rock Is Our Religion (Atomic Fire Records)
12:00-13:00 H.E.A.T. Force Majeure (earMUSIC)
14:00-16:00 THE SLAMBOVIAN CIRCUS OF DREAMS A Very Unusual Head (indie)

Popular (last 30 days)

This entry was posted in ALBUM REVIEWS, ALBUM REVIEWS (Mobile), ALL POSTS, PURE METAL (All posts), Pure Metal/Album reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply