Album review: OYSTERBAND – Read The Sky


Running Man Records [Release date 04.03.22]

After an 8-year gap – as the band explain “hey, we were busy” – the Oysterband return with their twelfth studio album, (fourteen including their two collaborative albums with June Tabor).

Oysterband have been going strong since 1992 (from 1976 to 1992 they were the Oyster Band), yet for many may have flown under their musical radar. The core original trio of John Jones (melodeon, lead vocals), Alan Prosser (guitars, vocals) and Ian Telfer (violin, keyboard, vocals) are joined by Al Scott (bass, mandolin, vocals), Sean Randle (drums, percussion, vocals) and Adrian Oxaal (cello, electric guitar, vocals) – who is also a member of James.

‘The Corner of the Room’ is a tale of looking back at young love and wondering what happened to that person – did they realise their dreams? A rousing chorus makes this song a shoe-in for live sets. ‘Born Under The Same Stars’ and ‘Wonders Are Passing’ are another couple of instant on the ears tunes. The latter song again highlighting how the world is changing rapidly and not for the better.

They certainly pack a punch on ‘The Time Is Now’, written for and released at the time of the COP 26 summit in Glasgow. “Ice turns to mud, the future slides away” – they get their message across by cutting to the chase. Indeed, there is no time for niceties now, action is what is required and this song is a powerful clarion call, with a solid rock backing it works perfectly. ‘My Son’ packs a powerful punch lyrically too.

Special mention to the album artwork as it is very distinctive and the digipak folds out beautifully.

Oysterband still have plenty to say that is relevant and we are lucky enough that they are still out there making music. ****

Review by Jason Ritchie

Josh Taerk’s latest Sunday Session was streamed on Sunday 22 May.

Next session: Sunday 17 July.

Check out previous videos here:

David Randall presents a weekly show on Get Ready to ROCK! Radio, Sundays at 22:00 GMT, repeated on Mondays and Fridays), when he invites listeners to ‘Assume The Position’. This show was first broadcast on 12 June 2022.

UK Blues Broadcaster of the Year (2020 and 2021 Finalist) Pete Feenstra presents his weekly Rock & Blues Show on Tuesday at 19:00 GMT as part of a five hour blues rock marathon “Tuesday is Bluesday at GRTR!”. The show is repeated on Wednesdays at 22:00, Fridays at 20:00). This show was first broadcast 14 June 2022.

How to Listen Live?

Click the programming image at the top of the page (top right of page if using desktop)

Listen via Windows Media Player. Click or tap here and “open file”
Listen via other media player (eg. VLC) Click or tap here and “open file”

Get Ready to ROCK! Radio is also in iTunes under Internet Radio/Classic Rock
Listen in via the Tunein app and search for “Get Ready to ROCK!” and save as favourite.

More information and links at our radio website where you can listen again to shows via the presenter pages:

Power Plays w/c 27 June 2022 (Mon-Fri)
REVIVAL BLACK Broken Home (TMR Records)
FLOYA Epiphany (indie)
TWISTER Own Worst Enemy (indie)
MODERN MIMES Down And Dead (Curtain Call Records)
TUNGSTEN Northern Lights (Arising Empire)
THE GREAT LESLIE Feel Alive (indie)

Featured Albums w/c 27 June (Mon-Fri)
09:00-12:00 GRACE Hope (Frontiers)
12:00-13:00 CLASSLESS ACT Welcome To the Show (Better Noise Music)
14:00-16:00 TIMOTHY B. SCHMIT Day By Day (indie)

Popular (last 30 days)

This entry was posted in ALBUM REVIEWS, ALBUM REVIEWS (Mobile), ALL POSTS and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply