Album Review: THE TEMPERANCE MOVEMENT – The Temperance Movement




Earache [Release date – 16.09.13]

There is a lot of industry buzz around The Temperance Movement at the moment with the guys gaining plenty of airplay across the country and great live reviews appearing in the press. This debut album then has a lot to live up to and it manages to hit the mark with style.

Quality blues laden rock is what is on offer here with a lot of influence from the deep south of the good ol’ US of A. The obvious comparison is with the Black Crowes as the guys have the same attitude, swagger and soul to their sound that the Robinson brothers have infused in their music for years. Opening track ‘Only Friend’ starts things off in rocking fashion whith some great guitar work from Paul Sayer and Luke Potashnick which is a feature on all tracks.

One thing that sets the band apart though is the vocal delivery from Glaswegian vocalist Phil Campbell who has a rich and soulful voice which has just the right amount of gravelly edge to it to suit both the quieter tracks like ‘Lovers And Fighters’, all out rockers such as ‘ Take It Back’ and current single ‘Midnight Black’.

The Temperance Movement may not be the most original band to emerge in the last few years, however, what they do they do well with a lot of heart and soul. Whether their early promise and hype will manifest itself into a glittering career only time will tell, with this album though they have a solid launch pad to work from.  ***1/2

David Wilson

Gig Review

David Randall presents a weekly show on Get Ready to ROCK! Radio, Sundays at 22:00 BST (GMT+1, repeated on Mondays and Fridays), when he invites listeners to ‘Assume The Position’. This show was first broadcast on 2 August 2020.

UK Blues Broadcaster of the Year (2020) Pete Feenstra presents his weekly Rock & Blues Show on Tuesday at 19:00 ( BST, GMT+1) as part of a five hour blues rock marathon “Tuesday is Bluesday at GRTR!”. The show is repeated on Wednesdays at 22:00, Fridays at 20:00). This show was first broadcast 4 August 2020.

Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

Featured Albums w/c 3 August (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 LIONVILLE Magic Is Alive (Frontiers)
12:00-13:00 MAD MAX Stormchild Rising (SPV)
14:00-16:00 MARY COUGHLAN Life Stories (2020)

Power Plays w/c 3 August (Mon-Fri)

SOUTH OF SALEM Cold Day In Hell (indie)
BLACK LESION Sins (indie)
CAROLINE JONES All Of The Boys (Social Family Records)
BLACK SUN Resist (Rockshot Records)
THE JAILBIRDS Dull My Brain (Golden Robot Records)
FROM ASHES TO NEW Scars That I’m Hiding (Better Noise Records)
THE GEORGIA THUNDERBOLTS Spirit Of A Workin’ Man (Mascot)

Email This Page
This entry was posted in ALBUM REVIEWS, ALBUM REVIEWS (Mobile), All Posts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply