Fastball www.emergencygate.com [Released 09.09.14]

Melodic death metal is not a genre I normally delve into and in the interests of trying something in this genre I have given Emergency Gate’s sixth album a listen (they have been around a fair while now since 1996).

The album does start promisingly with ‘Songs Of The Second’ which despite the growl vocals features some decent breakdowns and programmed synths. ‘Going Under’ is worth downloading, a pounding beat and a decent clean vocal on the chorus and for much of the song. ‘Your Last Smile’ hints at early Avenged Sevenfold whilst ‘We Wanna Party’ is like Andrew WK if he ever did a death metal song inviting Lordi along for the hell of it.

By the twelfth song my sanity chip is melting it has to be said. If you like melodic death metal and early Avenged Sevenfold this is worth a listen. **1/2

Review by Jason Ritchie

Laney's Legion

Perris Records [Out now]

Chris Laney has released a series of albums under various guises (solo and with Zan Clan) and now he has Laney’s Legion who wear their love of ‘Mutt’ Lange’s production style on their sleeve. Joining Lany are Danger Danger guitarist Rob Marcello, bassist Mats Vassfjoird (from fellow 80’s metal worshipers Grand Design) and drummer Patrik Jansson.

This is one glorious 80’s metal ride, recalling Def Leppard, Warrant and Poison. The lyrics even shame those of Mr Coverdale with ‘how can I resist you when your panties hit the floor’ on ‘Taste Of Your Tongue’, quite. If nothing else download the awesome ‘Poptastic’ which name checks the greats like Def Leppard, Van Halen and Y&T, loving the chorus which hits you for six on first listen.

They really go for that classic ‘Mutt’ Lange/Def Leppard sound on the excellent ‘Bleed Within’ although the dobro is not your typical Def Leppard instrument it has to be said!

Chris Laney does it again, producing a hook filled 80’s hair metal ride which is great fun. To quote Manowar ‘blow your speakers with rock ‘n’ roll’!  ****

Review by Jason Ritchie

www.martinaedoff.com [Out now]

Martina Edoff has previously sang on various dance records and a few Escape Music releases. There is an melodic rock connection in the musicians who help out on the album as former John Norum vocalist Leif Sundin adds backing vocals.

Martina’ vocal style reminded me of Cher and Robin Beck on the big rock songs like ‘On The Top’ and ‘Back Home’. Heart are another reference point in the style of songs, that’s the big haired 80′s Heart though. Excellent cover of Mr. Big’s ‘Just Take My Heart’ too. Missing a real heartfelt power ballad though, the album’s ‘Alone’ moment, as I am sure Martina could pull off one of these with aplomb.

Decent enough listen, perfect for lovers of female AOR/melodic rock with a strong 80′s leaning. ***

Review by Jason Ritchie

STARDUST CIRCUS Monkeys of XXI www.stardustcircis.net

‘Monkeys of XXI’ is a debut album full of dark and dirty Euro rock from Belarussian band Stardust Circus. There are a mixed bag of influences and sounds here- at times the vocals of Dave Loretti are similar to latter day Sammy Hagar at other they are totally original (and to be fair the bands singing in English is spot on and does not betray their European roots, unlike many new Euro rock bands of late).

Wwhilst the music is at times old school rock, at other very modern, there are touches of electronic rock, Cult like moments and even a hint of The Scorpions here and there.  But that said, this is not a bad album, for the most part it is impressive for a self-released debut with no label backing.

Opening intro ‘War Overture’ is a dark and brooding affair that gives way to ‘The Right To Break The Law’ which, along with ‘No Fear’, ‘Perfect Killer’ and ‘Maybe I’m Insane’ are the stand out tracks on the album. There is also the slower ‘I Won’t Save The World’ amongst a handful of tracks which make up the remainder of ‘Monkeys of XXI’.

If this is what Stardust Circus can do under their own steam then I cannot wait to see the band develop with a bit of overseas gigging, a bit of press interest and a record label behind them.  ****

Review by Nikk Gunns


The latest Facebook Live session from Canadian singer-songwriter Josh Taerk was streamed on Sunday 20 December., imbued with a festive flavour to raise the spirits

More about Josh: http://getreadytorock.me.uk/blog/?s=%22Josh+Taerk%22

David Randall presents a weekly show on Get Ready to ROCK! Radio, Sundays at 22:00 BST (GMT+1, repeated on Mondays and Fridays), when he invites listeners to ‘Assume The Position’. This show was first broadcast on 20 December 2020 and announces the results of the Popular Poll for Best of 2020.

UK Blues Broadcaster of the Year (2020) Pete Feenstra presents his weekly Rock & Blues Show on Tuesday at 19:00 ( BST, GMT+1) as part of a five hour blues rock marathon “Tuesday is Bluesday at GRTR!”. The show is repeated on Wednesdays at 22:00, Fridays at 20:00). This show was first broadcast 20 December 2020 and includes Pete’s best of the year selections

Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

Featured Albums w/c 11 January 2021 (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 UNRULY CHILD Our Glass House (Frontiers)
12:00-13:00 SERGEANT STEEL Truck Tales (Boyz Tyme Records)
14:00-16:00 DAN REED Liftoff (Zero Entertainment)

Power Plays w/c 11 January 2021 (Mon-Fri)

BLACK SPIDERS – Good Times (Dark Riders Records/Cargo Records)
GRAVITY MACHINE Standing Stones (Zyse Records)
EMPIIRES Love Or Hate (TLG Entertainment/INgrooves)
RAY FENWICK Tam Tam (Singsong Music)
DEAD REYNOLDS Voices (The Fort)
LAYLA ZOE Don’t Wanna Help Anyone (indie)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
This entry was posted in ALBUM REVIEWS, ALBUM REVIEWS (Mobile), All Posts, Quick Plays and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply