Album review: NO HOT ASHES – s/t


Frontiers [Release date 23.03.18]

They never made it back in the eighties, despite a big reputation in their native Northern Ireland, but No Hot Ashes have been festival favourites for the last few years and finally make it to an album release, albeit one tinged with sadness as founder member and bassist Paul Boyd has since passed away.

Compared to the generic ‘production line’ releases  too often associated with the genre, there is a refreshingly homespun and individual feel to it, singer Eamon Nancarrow even drawing on his own family for lyrical inspiration in the personal songs, the ballad  ‘Boulders’ and ‘Johnny Redhead’. Several lyrics also have a wistful nostalgia including ‘Good To Look Back’ where his vocal intonation has an intriguing touch of the Elton Johns.

The dominant musical style however is classic British AOR, pitched somewhere between FM and Shy, with an excellent balance between keyboards and melodic guitar solos. Indeed if you didn’t know otherwise, ‘I’m Back’ sounds like an undiscovered outtake from the latter’s ‘Excess All Areas’ album.

The opening song in ‘Come Alive’ is only the latest to draw its inspiration from the keyboard riff to Jefferson Starship’s ‘Jane’,  while ‘Satisfied’ has a Little Angels-like swaggering groove and  ‘Glow’ and ‘Over Again’ are a couple of other melodic rock goodies. The  cover of Rick Springfield’s ‘Souls’ adds little to the original but fits in perfectly.

Not an essential purchase but the mixture of classic old-school AOR and the heartfelt lyrical sentiments  make this a highly enjoyable listen and one the boys can be proud of.  ****

Review by Andy Nathan

In his show broadcast on Get Ready to ROCK! Radio on 10 May David Randall played a further selection of artists and albums included in the new Features series, “2020 Vision”.

Listen in to Get Ready to ROCK! Radio…
Click the appropriate icons at the top of the page.

Featured Albums w/c 25 May (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 FM Synchronized (Frontiers)
12:00-13:00 THE ROCKET DOLLS The Art Of Disconnect (indie)
14:00-16:00 BEN KUNDER Searching For The Stranger (indie)

Power Plays w/c 11 May (Mon-Fri)

THE MERCY KILLS Alone (Golden Robot Records)
DEAD REYNOLDS By Your Side (indie)
THE JAILBIRDS Watery Grave (Golden Robot Records)
ALI MASS & MICKY MOODY These Times (Last Man Music)
MASSIVE WAGONS Bangin In Your Stereo (Earache)
UDO We Are One (AFM Records)

Email This Page
This entry was posted in ALBUM REVIEWS, ALBUM REVIEWS (Mobile), All Posts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply