THE NEW 52 - Let Me Sleep

THE NEW 52 Let Me Sleep www.thenew52music.com [Release date 16.09.16]

The New 52 is the brainchild of Darragh Cullen, and he is joined by drummer Sean O’Connor, guitarist Connor McLoughlin and bassist Mikey Deasy for live shows – on the album he plays all the instruments himself bar sax, pedal steel and percussion.

The songs often deal with sleep or lack of, and there is a mix of styles from the Radiohead-lite of ‘Last Of The Gang’ and ‘Over’, through to the feel good melodic pop rock on ‘Good Intentions’, where the pedal steel playing of Gustaf Llunggren adds greatly to the song’s overall sound.

Possibly sailing a bit close to the MOR sound on ‘Manhattan (For A Handful Of Beads)’, mainly down to the Casio keyboard sound. ‘Coming Home’ and ‘Turning’ are shining pieces of pop rock, the latter reminded me of Collective Soul with its big build to a crashing chorus, glorious stuff.

Darragh Cullen has produced an album full of enjoyable pop rock mixed with some alt rock tunes. Worthy of your listening time that’s for sure.  ****

Review by Jason Ritchie


Formed in 2013, but having paid their dues in other bands, Oakland, California three piece Andalusia Rose – Jeff Vengeance (bass), Wendy Lee Gadzuk (vocals / guitar), and Paul Jarvis (drums) – release the follow up to their 2013 debut EP.

Strip out two sub two minute meanderings and you’re left with five tracks of organic, retro, female fronted rock.

With distinct Southern and blues rock tones, the band’s modus operandi is very much ‘plug in and play’ with no effects or over production.  The result is a late sixties vibe with nod’s to Zeppelin (‘Destroyer’, with Quo and Quatro elements), and Hendrix (‘Let It Shine’).  But the catchy title track is probably the pick of the bunch.

Uncomplicated, and well delivered First Stone is an admirable effort, but is derivative rather than innovative and for now, at least, it’s probably not strong enough to lift Andalusia Rose above being a highly effective club and opening act.  ***

Review by Pete Whalley

ORFILA  Never Slowin’ Down Cadiz Music [Release date 23.09.16]

For their sophomore release, Orfila – Folkestone-based siblings Abi, Louise, and Matt – have nailed their colours firmly to the Country mast, recruiting a veritable Who’s Who of players to capture an authentic Nashville sound.

Drums and fiddle are provided by Steeleye Span members Liam Genockey and Jessie May Smart, Lee Pomeroy puts in a turn on bass, pedal steel is delivered by BJ Cole and Melvin Duffy (Robbie Williams/Joe Cocker), and Rascal Flatts players Travis Toy and Tommy Yankton provide guitars, banjo, mandolin and harmonica.

With such a line-up, produced and mastered by Who stalwarts Sean Genockey and Ed Woods, quality is assured.  And with lead harmony vocals provided principally by Abi and Louise, there are clear parallels with The Corrs.

In other words, Never Slowin’ Down is undemanding, highly polished pop that will work just as well on this side of the Atlantic, as the other.  All that is required is exposure.  But the business has changed since The Corrs took the world by storm, and Orfila could struggle to find a usp in this Nashville centric era.  ***

Review by Pete Whalley

MIKE HURST Producer’s Archives Vol. 4 Angel Air Records [Release date  14.10.16]

Producer Mike Hurst again raids his vaults for the last time on this fourth volume. It is a mixed bag covering 1966 through to 1980, with songs from Billy Fury (who had massive success in the 1960’s yet failed to carry this over in the 1970’s) and Fancy, who are the most rocking thing on here and they do a good cover of ‘Wild Thing’.

A few hidden gems include Sprinkler’s ‘Face To Face’ which sounds a lot like the Little River Band and the late-70’s disco/synth pop of Terry Mace’s ‘Love Receiver’ – hints of the Sweet in the massed harmony vocals and Sparks in the vocals. However, most will use the skip button over the Bachelors and Russ Abbot! One for collectors and Mike Hurst is very humorous and honest in his sleeve notes on each song. **1/2

Review by Jason Ritchie

SIXTYNINE You Are Me www.rockcompany.nl [Release date 02.09.16]

Hailing from Slovenia Sixtynine have an album here that isn’t too shabby overall. Fronted by Tomaz Klepac, who sounds uncannily like Geoff Tate on ‘Come To Me’ and the ballad ‘Still Dreaming’ which closes the album, they go for the classic hard rock sound.

There is ‘Believe’ which sounds more pop rock than the rest of the album and does feel a little out of place. Highlights are the aforementioned songs and the hard rocking ‘Good Trade’, where there are hints of Axl in the vocals and Guns ‘N Roses in the overall sound.

There are a few good tunes on here and certainly a band I would go and see live.  ***

Review by Jason Ritchie


The latest Josh Taerk live session was streamed on Sunday 26 September. This marked the start of a new monthly series. Josh’s next session is Sunday 31 October.

David Randall presents a weekly show on Get Ready to ROCK! Radio, Sundays at 22:00 BST (GMT+1, repeated on Mondays and Fridays), when he invites listeners to ‘Assume The Position’. This show was first broadcast on 26 September 2021 and includes the Top 10 albums at www.getreadytorock.com for that week.

UK Blues Broadcaster of the Year (2020 and 2021 Finalist) Pete Feenstra presents his weekly Rock & Blues Show on Tuesday at 19:00 ( BST, GMT+1) as part of a five hour blues rock marathon “Tuesday is Bluesday at GRTR!”. The show is repeated on Wednesdays at 22:00, Fridays at 20:00). This show was first broadcast 28 September 2021.

How to Listen Live?

Click the programming image at the top of the page (top right of page if using desktop)

Listen via Windows Media Player. Click or tap here and “open file”
Listen via other media player (eg. VLC) Click or tap here and “open file”

Get Ready to ROCK! Radio is also in iTunes under Internet Radio/Classic Rock
Listen in via the Tunein app and search for “Get Ready to ROCK!” and save as favourite.

More information and links at our radio website where you can listen again to shows via the presenter pages: getreadytorockradio.com

Featured Albums w/c 18 October 2021 (Mon-Fri)

09:00-12:00 TAO Prophecy (Tarot Label Media)
12:00-13:00 LEVERAGE Above The Beyond (Frontiers)
14:00-16:00 JOE TILSTON Tightrope (Our Records)

Power Plays w/c 18 October 2021 (Mon-Fri)

ABOVE SNAKES Nothing To Lose (indie)
FRANKIE AND THE WITCH FINGERS Cookin’ (Greenway Records)
LEADFINGER The Fall Of Rome (Golden Robot)
FEMEGADES Stealing Numbers (Regent Street Records)
TIGERSIDE Any Contact (indie)
INDYA Love Like Champagne (indie)
EDGE OF DESTINY Forsaken (indie)

Popular (last 30 days)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
This entry was posted in ALBUM REVIEWS, ALBUM REVIEWS (Mobile), ALL POSTS, Quick Plays and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply