Album review: BITE THE BULLET – End of the Line

Escape Music [Release date 22.01.22]

Bite the Bullet trace their origins back to 1986 and still feature the original duo of Mick Benton (Vocals, Guitar, Bass, Keyboards) and Graham Cowling (Drums). They released a strong comeback album, ‘Black and White’, on Escape early last year and now they are back a year later with another new album.

Malcolm Jones joins again to add guitar as Bite The Bullet go more down the FM route, as opposed to Mr Mister, although ‘Camaraderie’ really sounds like primetime Mr Mister and features some the album’s best guitar moments. But the one band that really comes to mind is Brian Howe era Bad Company, especially on ‘Over You’ and ‘Cold Wind’, the latter given extra pizazz with keyboard horns. Rick Benton has that classic rock vocal that whilst very melodic, has a hint of roughness to it.

The title track gives FM a run for their money, with plenty of meaty guitar riffs to enjoy. At the ballad end of things ‘Lost For Words’ is a bit tasty, featuring a harmony filled chorus and a passionate vocal from Mick Benton.

‘Base Jumping’ sees them sign off the album on a high. A very catchy hard rocker which highlights this album’s heavier style. Reminiscent of Shy at times.

Another well-crafted piece of melodic hard rock from Bite The Bullet, who should be in the collections of any melodic rock fan. ****

Review by Jason Ritchie

Josh Taerk’s latest Sunday Session was streamed on Sunday 22 May.

Check out previous videos here:

David Randall presents a weekly show on Get Ready to ROCK! Radio, Sundays at 22:00 GMT, repeated on Mondays and Fridays), when he invites listeners to ‘Assume The Position’. This show was first broadcast on 15 May 2022.

UK Blues Broadcaster of the Year (2020 and 2021 Finalist) Pete Feenstra presents his weekly Rock & Blues Show on Tuesday at 19:00 GMT as part of a five hour blues rock marathon “Tuesday is Bluesday at GRTR!”. The show is repeated on Wednesdays at 22:00, Fridays at 20:00). This show was first broadcast 17 May 2022.

How to Listen Live?

Click the programming image at the top of the page (top right of page if using desktop)

Listen via Windows Media Player. Click or tap here and “open file”
Listen via other media player (eg. VLC) Click or tap here and “open file”

Get Ready to ROCK! Radio is also in iTunes under Internet Radio/Classic Rock
Listen in via the Tunein app and search for “Get Ready to ROCK!” and save as favourite.

More information and links at our radio website where you can listen again to shows via the presenter pages:

Power Plays w/c 16 May 2022 (Mon-Fri)
FLOYA The Hymn (Arising Empire)
VEXES The Dream Disease (indie)
NEAR DUSK The Way It Goes (Iron Head Records)
IN SEARCH OF SUN Make Me Crazy (indie)
WALLNER VAIN Deceive Her (indie)
MARATON Non-Euclidean Heart (Indie Recordings)

Featured Albums w/c 16 May (Mon-Fri)
09:00-12:00 TERRA NOVA Ring That Bell (Lion Music)
12:00-13:00 FOZZY Boombox (Mascot)
14:00-16:00 MICHAEL McDERMOTT St.Paul’s Boulevard (Pauper Sky Records)

Popular (last 30 days)

This entry was posted in ALBUM REVIEWS, ALBUM REVIEWS (Mobile), ALL POSTS and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply