Journey - Manchester MEN, 23 May 2013 - Photo by Steve Goudie

News - Album News

Altaria release their new album ‘Wisdom’ on July 8 via Atomic Fire Records.

Alter Bridge plan to release their new album in September.

Atomic Kings – vocalist Ken Ronk, bassist Greg Chaisson (Badlands, ex-Red Dragon Cartel), guitarist Ryan McKay and drummer Jim Taft – have signed with Tonehouse Records and will be releasing their debut album later this year.

Mike Batt has announced the release of a new prog rock concept album Songs From Croix-Noire’ on August 1, with the release of brand new single ‘A Whole New Day’ out now through Madhouse Rag Records.

The Beach Boys have announced a year-long celebration of their 60th anniversary, starting with an extended version of their 2003 ‘Sounds of Summer’ compilation. The new edition adds 50 tracks to the original 30, with many songs presented in completely new mixes. Out on June 17 it will be available in various formats.

The Black Crowes release a covers EP ’1972′ on May 4 exclusively on Amazon Music, with CD and vinyl editions available two days later. The band are working on new music for release next year.

Black Stone Cherry release ‘Live From The Royal Albert Hall… Y’All’ on 24 June via Mascot Records/Mascot Label Group.

Tim Bowness releases his latest album ‘Butterfly Mind’ on June 17 via InsideOut Music.

Buckets Rebel Heart are currently working on their second album.

Five Finger Death Punch have completed work on their next album.

Imagine Dragons release a double album, ‘Mercury — ACTS 1 & 2′, on July 1 via KIDinaKORNER/Interscope.

Elton John releases a 50th anniversary edition of ‘Madman Across The Water’ on June 10 from UMC EMI. It will be available as a 3CD/Blu-ray Super Deluxe Box Set, a 4LP box set, Limited Edition coloured vinyl and 2CD.

Journey (pictured) release their new album ‘Freedom’ on July 8.

Machine Head release their new album ‘Øf Kingdøm And Crøwn‘ on August 10.

Mantric Momentum is a new signing to Frontiers featuring vocalist Terje Harøy (Pyramaze) and multi-instrumentalist/songwriter Christer Harøy (Divided Multitude, Crossnail).

Christine McVie releases ‘Songbird (A Solo Collection)’ on June 24.

Motley Crue aim to release a new studio album next year.

Ozzy Osbourne has completed work on this latest album which is due for release later this year.

Franky Perez releases his fifth solo album, ‘Crossing the Great Divide’, on June 24.

Sinner release their latest album, ‘Brotherhood’, on July 15 through Atomic Fire Records. Guests on the album include Erik Martensson, Oliver Palotai, Ralf Scheepers, Ronnie Romero & Tom Englund.

Smashing Pumpkins have completed work on their twelfth studio album.

Radiohead offshoot The Smile have announced that they will release their debut album, ‘A Light For Attracting Attention’, on May 13.

Patti Smith plans to release one more album before she retires from music.

The Tangent release ‘Songs From The Hard Shoulder’ on June 10 via InsideOut.

Joanne Shaw Taylor releases ‘Blues From The Heart Live’ via KTBA Records on June 10.

Terra Nova have signed with Lion Music who will release their new album later this year.

Nirvana bassist Krist Novoselic has joined forces with Pearl Jam drummer Matt Cameron and Soundgarden guitarist Kim Thayil in a new band called 3rd Secret. They are joined by guitarist Bubba Dupree and vocalists Jillian Raye & Jennifer Johnson. They surprised released their debut album on April 11.

Urban Tale have reformed and plan to release a new studio album in 2023.

Wilco release a double album ‘Cruel Country’ on May 27.

News - Tours and Gigs

Newly announced UK tours (2022 unless stated):

Alter Bridge + Halestorm + Mammoth VH, Hugh Cornwell, Florence Black, Gong + Ozric Tentacles, Gypsy Pistoleros, Magenta, Frank Turner,

Upcoming (Gigs – UK)

Newly announced US & European tours (2022 unless stated):

Airbourne (US), Alter Bridge + Halestorm + Mammoth VH (Eur), Anthrax + Black Label Society (US), Alice Cooper (US), Crowded House (US),  Down (US), Bob Dylan (US), Everclear (US), Helmet (US), Mystery (Eur), Stevie Nicks (US), Rage Against The Machine (Eur), Ringo Starr (US),

Upcoming (USA/ROW)

UK Festivals 2022

Rescheduled & cancelled tours:

Kayak (UK shows cancelled), Magnum (last 2 UK shows postponed), Parkway Drive (US), Sven Gali (China, US), Yes (Eur 2022 to 2023),

Laura Evans supports Robert Jon & the Wreck on their UK tour.

Other Stuff

Foo Fighters, Dream Theater, Joni Mitchell, Stewart Copeland and Trent Reznor were amongst the winners at this year’s Grammys awards.

Kingmaker Publishing publish the biography of Big Big Train on 16 June. Entitled ‘Big Big Train – Between The Lines: The Story Of A Rock Band’ it written by music journalist Grant Moon. They have also announced Alberto Bravin (ex-PFM) as the band’s new vocalist.

Deacon Frey has announced his departure from the Eagles.

Red Hot Chilli Peppers new album debuted at number one on the UK and US album charts.

Rob Halford publishes his second book, ‘Biblical: Rob Halford’s Heavy Metal Scriptures’, on November 1.

News - RIP

Ian Eyre, bass player for Curved Air between 1970 and 1971

Original Autograph bassist Randy Rand

Electronic music pioneer Klaus Schulze

Josh Taerk’s latest Sunday Session was streamed on Sunday 20 March 2022 at 21:00 GMT (16:00 EST). Josh’s next session is Sunday 22 May.

Check out previous videos here:

David Randall presents a weekly show on Get Ready to ROCK! Radio, Sundays at 22:00 GMT, repeated on Mondays and Fridays), when he invites listeners to ‘Assume The Position’. This show was first broadcast on 8 May 2022.

UK Blues Broadcaster of the Year (2020 and 2021 Finalist) Pete Feenstra presents his weekly Rock & Blues Show on Tuesday at 19:00 GMT as part of a five hour blues rock marathon “Tuesday is Bluesday at GRTR!”. The show is repeated on Wednesdays at 22:00, Fridays at 20:00). This show was first broadcast 3 May 2022.

How to Listen Live?

Click the programming image at the top of the page (top right of page if using desktop)

Listen via Windows Media Player. Click or tap here and “open file”
Listen via other media player (eg. VLC) Click or tap here and “open file”

Get Ready to ROCK! Radio is also in iTunes under Internet Radio/Classic Rock
Listen in via the Tunein app and search for “Get Ready to ROCK!” and save as favourite.

More information and links at our radio website where you can listen again to shows via the presenter pages:

Power Plays w/c 16 May 2022 (Mon-Fri)
FLOYA The Hymn (Arising Empire)
VEXES The Dream Disease (indie)
NEAR DUSK The Way It Goes (Iron Head Records)
IN SEARCH OF SUN Make Me Crazy (indie)
WALLNER VAIN Deceive Her (indie)
MARATON Non-Euclidean Heart (Indie Recordings)

Featured Albums w/c 16 May (Mon-Fri)
09:00-12:00 TERRA NOVA Ring That Bell (Lion Music)
12:00-13:00 FOZZY Boombox (Mascot)
14:00-16:00 MICHAEL McDERMOTT St.Paul’s Boulevard (Pauper Sky Records)

Popular (last 30 days)

This entry was posted in Album News, ALL POSTS, Band Entrees & Exits, Books, Festivals & Large Events, Get Ready to ROCK! Radio, Gigs and Tour News, NEWS, PledgeMusic/Kickstarter Campaigns, PURE METAL (All posts), Re-issues/special editions, RIP and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply